Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Library Murders cover art

The Library Murders

By: Merryn Allingham
Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Bookshop Murder cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
An English Garden Murder cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
Murder in the Bookshop cover art
Poison at the Village Show cover art
Murder at Everham Hall cover art
Murder at Little Minton cover art
The Body at Rookery Barn cover art
Murder at the Spring Ball cover art
Murder in Merrywell cover art
Murder on the Golden Arrow cover art
A Body on the Doorstep cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
A Date to Die For cover art
The Case of the Canterfell Codicil cover art

Summary

Bookshop owner and amateur detective Flora Steele and her fiancé, crime writer Jack Carrington, discover words can kill as they solve their most puzzling case yet.

It’s a sunny morning in Abbeymead as Flora cycles through the village and knocks on the door of the local library, planning to deliver a gift to librarian Maud Frobisher to mark her retirement. But Flora is shocked when she finds Maud slumped in the corner, and even more startled when she recognizes the man holding the murder weapon – an enormous hardback book.

Flora’s known Lowell Gracey since her college days, but what is he doing working for Maud and now the main suspect in her murder? Suspicion mounts when Flora and Jack discover that Lowell is heavily in debt, and that a priceless rare first edition has recently gone missing, but Lowell is adamant that he’s innocent, and Flora believes him.

The pair are once more drawn into an investigation, but who would kill a beloved librarian?

Perhaps Rose Lawson, a mysterious newcomer to Abbeymead known to be in dire financial straits? Or pompous bestselling author Felix Wingrave, who rumors say would do anything to get his hands on a valuable book for his collection?

Then the village is rocked by the discovery of a second body. Flora and Jack realize a vital clue lies in the pages of a novel–but the plot is thickening and the killer is closing in.

Flora and Jack are determined to solve this fiendish case by the book–but will this be the end of their story?

A completely addictive cozy crime mystery. Fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis will adore this series!

©2024 Merryn Allingham (P)2024 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Library Murders

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely easy listen

Plenty of suspects and regular favourite characters . A great easy listen to while away the day.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A little cracker

Love how the characters are progressing throughout the different books. Usual stolid narration, and lovely cosy crime 1950s setting. More please :-) X

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Already submitted a Review, but...

Forgot to mention, in the 1950s the word 'either' would not have been pronounced 'eether', which is an American pronunciation. British pronunciation would be 'eye-ther'.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy listening

Some lovely characters and underlying feel good vibes even though it’s a murder mystery. Much of that is down to the narrator, although sometimes I do catch myself wondering who just said what as sometimes her character voices aren’t distinct enough. Overall I would highly recommend this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable Addition to the Series

Quite a complex mystery - as enjoyable as ever to hear about Jack and Flora .
Kept me guessing . I have enjoyed this series and hope there are more to come .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my favourite in the series

I'm a fan of the Flora and Jack stories, however I found the narration of this one to be lacking. The character of Lowell sounded reminiscent of Vernon Elliott in a previous story and I found it off putting. The story dragged in places and the inspector was made to sound like an idiot. I will continue with the series and hope to enjoy the next one more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!