Listen free for 30 days

  • The Island

  • By: Mary Grand
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Island - where everyone knows everyone and secrets are impossible to keep....

Be careful, you don’t know them as well as you think. Remember - anyone can kill.

Juliet has returned to the Isle of Wight from years abroad to visit her sick father and to be reunited with her three sisters - Cassie, a professional musician who seems to have lost her way in life; Mira, who is profoundly deaf, is married to the local vicar but their relationship is falling apart, and Rosalind, glamorous and charming but now deeply unhappy and secretive about her life. 

As Juliet’s father lies dying, he issues her with a warning. There is a killer on the loose, and they may be closer than she can ever imagine. He anxiously tells Juliet that he confided a family secret in son-in-law Rhys and now regrets ever saying a word.

Days later, as the clock strikes one in the morning, a man comes out of Rhys’ church, walks along the path and is run down by a car driven by an unidentified person. When the finger of suspicion points to Juliet, she realises the only way to clear her name is to uncover the secrets her family has been keeping from her for years. But with a killer on the loose, danger is getting closer all the time....

The Island is set on the Isle of Wight - insular, claustrophobic and where secrets are hard to keep. Mary Grand's heart-stopping whodunnits are perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, Agatha Christie and Lucy Foley.

©2021 Mary Grand (P)2021 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Island

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Poor Quality Recording

I really enjoyed the story, but unfortunately the quality wasn't good. Sentences were repeated, it stopped mid sentence and then went back.
Its a shame as its a good story, I like the little clues as you go along with Mary's books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

Really enjoyed this. Keeps you guessing. Definitely recommend. Good narration. Well worth a listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murders on paradise island

I really enjoyed this unusual story - unusual for its tremendous Isle of Wight island setting with all its beauty ,and its close-knit, everybody-knows-everybody community; and unusual for its fresh approach to an Agatha Christie-type murder mystery. These interlinked families bound by ancient secrets aren't just Christie-like figures, they're real people. The author is extremely good at creating a complex network of relationships making the complexities and the people completely real There is a mass of detail to feed and distract listeners as Juliet's search for the truth becomes increasingly dangerous right up until the very end with its final tense and unexpected denouement. (No spoilers!)
Mary Grand must be very pleased with Karen Cass as the narrator as she brings another dimension to the story - it's a subtly nuanced narration with the dialogue (of which there's a great deal) extremely realistically presented. She even manages a Welsh accent when needed!
Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story.. needs a little specific research

Enjoyed the story and narration. There is one huge annoyance for me but specifically as a dog behaviourist and trainer. When including a hearing dog for deaf people with many mentions in the book, an author should research these wonderful animals. Lola in the book performs many actions a hearing dog would never do and omits pretty much all actions a hearing dog does do. Mainly Lola in the book is a pet even though she is described as a hearing dog for deaf people. The author says Lola is mainly a companion but these dogs are so much more than that. As I say this would not bother most people. Hearing dogs alert the deaf owner to sounds such as a door bell, telephone and even gives a different more urgent alert to a smoke alarm. Right at the end of the book is the biggest insult where Mira watches the baby to see if she cries. The dog would alert the deaf mother to this sound. A great opportunity to bring the public's attention to the wonderful work these canine helpers do and to the charity which train and provide them has been sadly missed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janice H
  • Janice H
  • 24-06-22

Engaging listen

I love this narrator and the story is an easy listen and keeps your attention and interest. Definitely recommend this one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JL Mrsny
  • JL Mrsny
  • 27-12-21

The Island

I started this book a bit preoccupied, and started it completely over with my full attention. I would listen to this book again and again! Well worth the credit!! Thank you!