Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Guilt Trip cover art

The Guilt Trip

By: Sandie Jones
Narrated by: Clare Corbett
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £9.99

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Guilt Trip is the compelling, twisty novel from Sandie Jones, the author of The Other Woman, and perfect for fans of T. M. Logan's The Holiday.

They went away as friends. They came back as suspects....

Jack and Rachel. Noah and Paige. Will and Ali. Five friends who’ve known each other for years. And Ali, Will’s new fiancée. 

To celebrate the forthcoming wedding, all three couples are having a weekend get-away together in Portugal. 

It’s a chance to relax and get to know Ali a little better perhaps. A newcomer to their group, she seems perfectly nice and Will seems happy after years of bad choices. But Ali is hiding more than one secret....

By the end of the weekend, there’ll be one dead body and five people with guilty consciences wondering if they really know each other so well after all. Because one of them has to be the killer....

©2021 Sandie Jones (P)2021 Macmillan Publishers International Limited

What listeners say about The Guilt Trip

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh yes!…this is a good one!

Really enjoyed this, found myself engaged and interested in the characters straight away, couldn’t see where it was going to go or who to trust. I also love this narrator, she has a great style. 5*!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Only kept listening as I was cleaning out the garage!

Ignore the other positive reviews... if you’ve read any Lisa Jewell, Jane Fallon etc then you’ll recognise Guilt Trip for a poor pastiche of the genre.

Plot: simplistic, predictable and unrefined

Style: presumably aiming for psychological thriller but I just felt irritated by the overlong female characters’ internal monologues

Characterisation: Stereotypical and so no connection to any of the characters.

Narration: monotonous and hard to differentiate characters

Particular Annoyance: The internal thoughts of Rachel - self absorbed, self serving and stupid. I do wish authors particularly women authors would stop writing such vacuous women !!! WAKE UP

SPOILER (well not really!) Rachel was utterly devoid of maternal compassion when considering the potential fallout of her 20+ year deception regarding her son’s biological father. I mean, come on... all the angst about Jack & Noa, er... how about Josh

In short, don’t waste a credit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Although quite predictable in places, I loved it! Kept me engaged and wanting more throughout.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just dull and super boring

Waste of time. I can’t believe I have chosen the same author again. This book is even worse than “The other woman”.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 28-06-21

Not as good as her previous books

This author does come up with some good twists and plots, and I have listened to all her 3 previous books. But this one to me is bordering on boring in the middle and I get the feeling just drawn out to fill up pages/time. Still a good ending but not a 'must buy'.