Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Good Wife cover art

The Good Wife

By: Ellery A. Kane
Narrated by: Kristin James
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When the cops pull up outside our modest family home and walk up our lawn strewn with our daughter’s toys, I turn to see the look on my husband’s face, and I know he’s done something wrong. In that moment, I have no idea how bad it is, or that I will end up doing something much, much worse....

All marriages have their challenges, right? But as I watch my husband being put into the back of a cop car, I find myself wondering if I ever knew him at all. Could handsome, easygoing Theo really have killed a girl on our block? Could I have got the sweet, loving father, who makes up lullabies to sing my baby to sleep, so wrong?

Most women would leave him—take their child and run for the hills. But not me. Theo and I have been together a long time. I know his secrets. And he knows all of mine. Well, most of them. I’m the best lawyer in this town, and I’m his only chance. So I choose to defend him, whatever the cost.

When I learn more about the young woman found dead in a dumpster outside of my husband’s music studio, I feel my heart pound in my chest. I know her, and I know how close she was to my husband. As a local nanny, they often bumped into each other at the children’s playground, and he even invited her over for dinner once. Was I wrong to be so trusting? And why did he lie about where he was the night she was killed?

As the police begin to pick apart our relationship, they don’t paint a pretty picture, and even some of our so-called friends begin to tell stories. It feels like my whole life has been a lie.

Can I really trust the man I love?

And when push comes to shove, can he trust me?

Fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and The Housemaid will love this spine-tinglingly tense psychological thriller with a mind-blowing twist!

©2022 Ellery Kane (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Good Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HailtoTheVictors
  • HailtoTheVictors
  • 19-11-22

Bad narrator

Good story. But the narrator is awful. When she is telling the actual story and reading the women’s voices it’s fine. But when she gets to the men’s voices she sounds like a drunken frat boy trying to find his words. The words are all DRAWWWWWWWWN OUT and it makes the men sound smarmy or like they are from an old bad gangster movie. Are the lyrics of the songs the author came up with—Are they supposed to sound like awful 90s power rock ballads? Cmon, man!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Becca Ann Friedman
  • Becca Ann Friedman
  • 23-01-23

Lots of twists!

Really good story! Keep you guessing and edgy and talking back to the characters! The narrator has little range and nearly everyone sounds like a stereotypical wasp. It’s unfortunate because the characters are interesting but the narrator makes their words sound trite.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Harder
  • Michelle Harder
  • 21-12-22

Held my Interest, but predictable

I don't mind red herrings and misdirection when done expertly, but this fell flat. Since I suspected almost from the beginning who the killer was, I paid close attention to the narrators and there were times when I thought if I was right, the author did a very poor job of misdirection through flat out lying through one of the narrators. That's the main issue with 1sf person narrators. If they lie to the reader about their own inner voice, it doesn't make sense.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca Rampley
  • Rebecca Rampley
  • 01-12-22

Worst Narration Ever

If you like a bad narrator telling a VERY long winded story that has a silly and unsatisfying ending…this book is for you!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Curtis Smith
  • Curtis Smith
  • 29-11-22

Really bad narrator.

The narrator in this book made it painful to listen to. The mens voices were terrible. The story was ok.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Petrina
  • Petrina
  • 10-11-22

Excellent book by a new author to me

Kept me on the edge of my seat. Well told story. Good narration. Enjoyed the setting. Will look for more books by this author.