Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £32.09

Buy Now for £32.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

“Perfect for fans of Grace Kelly, royal-watchers, and fans of biographical fiction alike." (PopSugar)

A Library Reads Pick and Historical Novel Society Editor’s Choice!

A life in snapshots....

Grace knows what people see. She’s the Cinderella story. An icon of glamor and elegance frozen in dazzling Technicolor. The picture of perfection. The girl in white gloves. 

A woman in living color....

But behind the lens, beyond the panoramic views of glistening Mediterranean azure, she knows the truth. The sacrifices it takes for an unappreciated girl from Philadelphia to defy her family and become the reigning queen of the screen. The heartbreaking reasons she trades Hollywood for a crown. The loneliness of being a princess in a fairy tale kingdom that is all too real. Hardest of all for her adoring fans and loyal subjects to comprehend is the harsh reality that to be the most envied woman in the world does not mean she is the happiest. 

Starved for affection and purpose, facing a labyrinth of romantic and social expectations with more twists and turns than Monaco’s infamous winding roads, Grace must find her own way to fulfillment. But what she risks - her art, her family, her marriage - she may never get back.

©2020 Kerri Maher (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"The stunning and very human story of a beloved icon.... Full of nuance and poignancy - this novel is gorgeous." (Allison Pataki, New York Times best-selling author of The Queen’s Fortune)

"[A] fascinating, deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly...establishes Maher as a true force in biographical fiction." (Beatriz Williams, New York Times best-selling author of The Golden Hour)

"A captivating look behind the scenes at the life of the iconic Grace Kelly...as she searches for authenticity in a world clamoring instead for a picture-perfect princess." (Marie Benedict, New York Times best-selling author of The Only Woman in the Room)

What listeners say about The Girl in White Gloves

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sunshine girl
  • sunshine girl
  • 30-04-20

Yawn

Not much new here. Boring if you already know the story of the princess. Voice of narrator so soft had volume all the way up and sometimes still difficult to here.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 31-07-22

So Interesting!

Happy to read/hear this story of Grace Kelly’s life. A Philadelphia girl who lived an amazing life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle
  • Michelle
  • 16-04-22

imaginatively curious and educational

Maher gives Grace Kelly, & then Princess Grace of Moneco an approachable, but conflicted spirit. She's always working hard, but searching for more. I think that by the time we finish this literary portrait of Grace we find, with her, that her sacrifices were worthy, and she has achieved all that she truly wanted in the end. Even in her tragic ending, Maher portrays her as getting what she really had strived for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jasper Van Wyk
  • Jasper Van Wyk
  • 07-11-21

Enjoyable

I actually enjoyed this story more than I thought I would. It was very well done exploring who Grace Kelly was not just as an actress or princess but as a person. The innocent face was a strong woman with determination. A great listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pearl667
  • pearl667
  • 05-08-21

Took me back in time

I really enjoyed both the story and narration. It took me back in time before I was born. But I had always heard of Grace Kelly growing up and her story was truly fascinating