Listen free for 30 days

  • The Girl and the Ghost

  • By: Hanna Alkaf
  • Narrated by: Mirai Booth-Ong
  • Length: 6 hrs and 30 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Girl and the Ghost cover art

The Girl and the Ghost

By: Hanna Alkaf
Narrated by: Mirai Booth-Ong
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £23.09

Buy Now for £23.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother's legacy. I am yours to command. 

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable. 

But Suraya doesn't know that pelesits have a dark side - and when Pink's shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive...before they are both lost to the darkness. 

Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi's Furthermore will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

©2020 Hanna Alkaf (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about The Girl and the Ghost

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sasha K
  • Sasha K
  • 26-12-20

a new take on middle grade ghost stories

I really liked this book the Muslim backdrop was just that, not a main focus. The pawang was not as developed as I wanted and I had questions about his powers and how he did things. I also had a problem with the random mention of Pinocchio, as foreshadowing.