Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Don’t forget to preorder After the Party–the brand-new 2022 thriller from Georgina Lees

How well do you know your neighbour?

Would you trust them with your life?

I heard Emily before I saw her. The harsh smack of heels against cheap wooden floorboards. The loud phone calls. The incessant music.

I knew Emily before I met her. Discarded receipts in our communal hallway. Sticky leftovers in the shared food waste bin. Wine shop vouchers in the letterbox.

Now she’s gone missing, and I’m the only one who can find her. The only one who can save her.

Because I know her best, and I heard everything.

The Girl Upstairs is a spine-tingling psychological thriller of grief and obsession that explores how lonely London can be and how sometimes it’s our neighbours who see us most, who know us best....

A must-listen for fans of Lisa Jewell and Sarah Pinborough.

©2021 Georgina Lees (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Girl Upstairs

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

I dont like leaving bad reviews but this book definitely deserves it. If it stops other members wasting a credit

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid debut

This is a slow burn of a book, for sure, but it's a pace I enjoy when a story is well written. I did not manage to guess what was going on, there are a lot of twists and I probably suspected every possible scenario except the actual one. There's a lot of grief involved throughout the book, but I was satisfied with the outcome and liked the hopeful ending to the story. Meg Travers did an excellent job with the narration.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow starter that’s well read

Story is slow to get going, many of the early chapters feel slightly wasted although the second half of the book is much better with several twists and turns that surprised me.
Exquisitely read by Meg, cannot fault her reading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Slow, hard slog

Nothing happens in this book.
Long rambling chapters at the beginning could be got rid of completely and others shortened considerably.

If you’re after a thrilling, twisty page turner with complex and interesting characters to get your teeth into….pass on this one. This is a slow, gentle and pretty boring story with boring characters who have boring lives.
Glad I got it on sale. Not worth a full credit.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

JUST DOESN'T HIT THE SPOT FOR ME

A good 3🌟 listen but nothing special for those like me who like lots of twists and turns and like to be gripped. It's a good story and one you can listen to whilst doing other things, as it doesn't take too much concentration. It didn't make me want to rush back to it or gush to other people about it but it's not terrible. I did want to listen to the end as there was just enough going on to keep me interested.
I'm glad I got it for £2.99 on Whisper Sync rather than using a credit on it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

my opinion?

I mostly enjoyed it but sometimes it gets wrapped up in the detail unnecessarily.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not enough story for a whole book

Whilst I enjoyed the narration I didn't feel there was enough of a plot to stretch to a whole book. the middle of the book felt desperately stretched and nothing happened except for too many descriptions of London. I finished it but only because I'd persevered for so long.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

narrated beautifully but sloooow story

A real shame as this book is read really well , but really boring

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Debut

Georgina Lees has written an impressive debut novel. The more you read, the more the story unfolds and the less time you will put the book down. She shows a remarkable perception of thinking you know someone and how that often (nearly always) differs from reality. There is a sense of loneliness and sadness coupled with a slow paced unfolding of the story. Can't wait for her next book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bitten and Seven Are The Best Kitties In Heaven
  • Bitten and Seven Are The Best Kitties In Heaven
  • 23-05-22

Surprisingly Good

This book kept popping up on my suggested reads and for some reason it took about six months for me to finally give it a listen.
I was so pleasantly surprised by the depth of this story, the development of the characters involved, and the relatability of the protagonist.
The character of Suzie really grows on you and you find yourself really wanting to know what happened to her as well as what happened to her neighbor Emily.
I couldn’t put it down and finished it in a night.
The narration is fantastic, the story holds your attention from start to finish and the ending is exceptionally well thought out and complete.
I would definitely recommend this book, a true mystery with great characters and at times a bit spooky because you’re never really sure who to be afraid of.
A great story…

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara W
  • Barbara W
  • 04-04-22

Good book

A downstairs neighbor seems to keep getting annoyed with her insensitive and disruptive upstairs neighbor until she goes missing. Then she seems to be the only one concerned with her disappearance.

The book was a little slow getting started but did get better as it got a little more suspenseful.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 16-03-22

A suspenseful and enjoyable listen

A first for me by both author and narrator is definitely not my last. A curiously interesting plot, author Georgina Lees leads us on a complex search for ”The Girl Upstairs.” Going chapter to chapter with different viewpoints (a favorite writing style of mine), it is expertly narrated by Meg Travers. I was lucky to have bought this one for a bit over $6, however, it is worth a credit. An awesome thank you to all involved in bringing this hidden gem to Audible. I want more, more, more!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for W. Waters
  • W. Waters
  • 13-12-21

this story keeps you engaged

It's a good book mirroring two women in different types of love with different outcomes.

I was disappointed in the ending. I felt the characters were well developed and the story was long but the ending seemed abrupt and unfinished. It left you hanging with hope but not developing anything.

I read this book very quickly and I don't tend to do that.