Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A grand villa, croissants for breakfast, and a dead body in the wine cellar.... Lady Swift can’t seem to take a vacation from murder!

Summer 1923. Lady Eleanor Swift is finally persuaded by her butler, Clifford, to take a villa in the south of France for the season. She plans to do what a glamorous lady abroad should: long lunches on the balcony followed by lazy afternoons lounging by the pool. Even Gladstone the bulldog is looking forward to a daily paddle in the ocean. 

But when Clifford examines the wine cellar, he discovers there are no decent reds, but there is a very dead body. The victim is famous American movie-star Rex Armstrong. Poor Rex seems to have been stabbed with a sword from the film set. So how did he end up in Eleanor’s villa?

Before Eleanor even has time to change out of her travelling suit, her beloved butler is arrested for the crime. At sea without her right-hand man, Eleanor must gather her wits if she’s to outsmart a murderer and save Clifford.

Attending a glitzy party at the luxurious Hotel Azure with the film’s cast and crew so she can question her main suspects, Eleanor overhears the director having a most unsettling telephone call that throws all her theories out of the water. Can Eleanor unmask the true killer before her time abroad is cut murderously short?

A gripping historical murder mystery full of charm and intrigue, set in the beautiful French Riviera. Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey, and Lee Strauss will adore The French for Murder.

©2022 Verity Bright (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The French for Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I wish I could star rate these with out a running written comment. This should be optional. Excellent book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t get enough

Of the author or the narrator. Both brilliant.
Hopefully the next in the series is on its way

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Normally love Lady Swift books

Very disappointing as I found it quite hard going with a limited story line and weak characters. Although I enjoyed the ‘banter’ between Clifford and Eleanor I believe there could have been more development of the relationship between Hugh and Eleanor. There was also limited involvement of the household characters within the story line. I was really looking forward to listening to this latest book but a bit of a let down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional engaging Another good read

Loved it from start to finish.When's the next one?
I enjoyed it thoroughly thank you

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic story from Verity Bright

I have to be honest this wasn't what I was expecting, it was better! It reminded me of watching Agatha Christie films and series when I was younger especially Poirot, I kept picturing David Suchet when Karen did the voice of the French Detective. I know Poirot is Belgium. I thought Karen's performance was excellent providing all the different accents and genders, I was very impressed! The story was very enjoyable, it was nice to find out more about Clifford. I hope they reveal more in future books. The ending and conclusion was very refreshing and felt sad but right... I liked it a lot, I hope that the writing team behind Verity Bright keep up the changes to the formula. I would like to see more of the family (staff) as I love their banter and cheekiness, I would really like to see more of the two young maids as I feel we don't really hear much from them especially the new girl who's name I have forgotten. See I remember Polly but not the other one. What I would love to see is for the two young ladies to have to investigate a mystery that they witnessed as Lady Swift and Clifford are working on another case and the two young maids take the initiative, we see Polly become more confident wanting to be more like Eleanor and has to pretend to be Eleanor's ward. Clifford obviously would be horrified but Eleanor would be very impressed and proud of her two young maids. I think it would be great to see the characters grow. I also want to see Hugh and Eleanor get together. I would hope Hugh is a modern man of the time and want Eleanor to be the same woman he fell in love with. A strong willed independent woman, who drives him nuts and is warm, kind and frighteningly intelligent. I would love to hear him say. "Why don't you take over my job as the detective and I will sit on the shezlong with Gladstone and eat pies?"

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The French for Murder

Last Eleanor Swift takes a well needed rest in the Riviera, but when they arrive there is already someone there! The Marie is holding Clifford responsible so Lady Eleanor has now chose but to find out the whodunit. With laughs and high japs along the way, Clifford and Lady Eleanor stumble through until they find the clues. Read brilliantly as always by Karen Cass. ❤

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DAwn D.
  • DAwn D.
  • 11-06-22

Charming and brilliant

Wonderful story and mystery to get lost in. I love all the historical references. The adventures were amazing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MJT2
  • MJT2
  • 17-07-22

Love these books

Super fun book! I truly have enjoyed all 10 to date. Characters are engaging and each story is a good fun mystery.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna Schnitker
  • Donna Schnitker
  • 17-06-22

Another winner

I am such a fan of the Verity Bright series. I am always sad when the book ends and I have to wait for the next installment. Karen Cass does an exceptional job narrating the books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-06-22

Such a WONDERFUL story

I loved the setting and the mystery. This series of books is so fun and adventurous. Even on vacation in the Riviera out of season Eleanor and her butler, Clifford, find a mysterious murder and then two that need to be solved. When Clifford is falsely arrested for the murder, he and Eleanor must find the culprit before it's too late.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-06-22

Review

Too drawn out. Better when plot developed with her Chief Indpector , Hugh. Makes the storyline much more nteresting rather than just focusing on Eleanor and Clifford.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SK Thatcher
  • SK Thatcher
  • 01-06-22

Missed Hugh...

I was disappointed that Hugh was not included in the plot, except for a few brief mentions.