Listen free for 30 days

  • The French for Murder

  • A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 10
  • By: Verity Bright
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 8 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (67 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The French for Murder cover art

The French for Murder

By: Verity Bright
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Very English Murder cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
Death Among the Diamonds cover art
Murder Offstage cover art
Murder on the Golden Arrow cover art
Evie Parker Lady Sleuth Mysteries Books 1 & 2 cover art
Cleopatra Fox Mysteries Boxed Set, Books 1-3 cover art
A Roaring Murder cover art
Murder at the Manor: A 1920s Cozy Mystery cover art
A Quiet Life in the Country cover art
The Scottish Ladies' Detective Agency cover art
Ask Me No Questions cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
Mystery in Provence cover art
Murder at Everham Hall cover art
A Dangerous Goodbye cover art

Summary

A grand villa, croissants for breakfast, and a dead body in the wine cellar.... Lady Swift can’t seem to take a vacation from murder!

Summer 1923. Lady Eleanor Swift is finally persuaded by her butler, Clifford, to take a villa in the south of France for the season. She plans to do what a glamorous lady abroad should: long lunches on the balcony followed by lazy afternoons lounging by the pool. Even Gladstone the bulldog is looking forward to a daily paddle in the ocean. 

But when Clifford examines the wine cellar, he discovers there are no decent reds, but there is a very dead body. The victim is famous American movie-star Rex Armstrong. Poor Rex seems to have been stabbed with a sword from the film set. So how did he end up in Eleanor’s villa?

Before Eleanor even has time to change out of her travelling suit, her beloved butler is arrested for the crime. At sea without her right-hand man, Eleanor must gather her wits if she’s to outsmart a murderer and save Clifford.

Attending a glitzy party at the luxurious Hotel Azure with the film’s cast and crew so she can question her main suspects, Eleanor overhears the director having a most unsettling telephone call that throws all her theories out of the water. Can Eleanor unmask the true killer before her time abroad is cut murderously short?

A gripping historical murder mystery full of charm and intrigue, set in the beautiful French Riviera. Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey, and Lee Strauss will adore The French for Murder.

©2022 Verity Bright (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The French for Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

disappointed

I have loved all the Lady Swift stories but just couldn't get on with this one. A bit too far fetched and the French policeman's accent way over the top
I'll be interested to read others reviews

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great idea - another unusual plot

Love the fact that this book is different, so much to think about and the suspense almost all the way through is amazing. The change of setting is really fun too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I wish I could star rate these with out a running written comment. This should be optional. Excellent book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t get enough

Of the author or the narrator. Both brilliant.
Hopefully the next in the series is on its way

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Normally love Lady Swift books

Very disappointing as I found it quite hard going with a limited story line and weak characters. Although I enjoyed the ‘banter’ between Clifford and Eleanor I believe there could have been more development of the relationship between Hugh and Eleanor. There was also limited involvement of the household characters within the story line. I was really looking forward to listening to this latest book but a bit of a let down.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional engaging Another good read

Loved it from start to finish.When's the next one?
I enjoyed it thoroughly thank you

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic story from Verity Bright

I have to be honest this wasn't what I was expecting, it was better! It reminded me of watching Agatha Christie films and series when I was younger especially Poirot, I kept picturing David Suchet when Karen did the voice of the French Detective. I know Poirot is Belgium. I thought Karen's performance was excellent providing all the different accents and genders, I was very impressed! The story was very enjoyable, it was nice to find out more about Clifford. I hope they reveal more in future books. The ending and conclusion was very refreshing and felt sad but right... I liked it a lot, I hope that the writing team behind Verity Bright keep up the changes to the formula. I would like to see more of the family (staff) as I love their banter and cheekiness, I would really like to see more of the two young maids as I feel we don't really hear much from them especially the new girl who's name I have forgotten. See I remember Polly but not the other one. What I would love to see is for the two young ladies to have to investigate a mystery that they witnessed as Lady Swift and Clifford are working on another case and the two young maids take the initiative, we see Polly become more confident wanting to be more like Eleanor and has to pretend to be Eleanor's ward. Clifford obviously would be horrified but Eleanor would be very impressed and proud of her two young maids. I think it would be great to see the characters grow. I also want to see Hugh and Eleanor get together. I would hope Hugh is a modern man of the time and want Eleanor to be the same woman he fell in love with. A strong willed independent woman, who drives him nuts and is warm, kind and frighteningly intelligent. I would love to hear him say. "Why don't you take over my job as the detective and I will sit on the shezlong with Gladstone and eat pies?"

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The French for Murder

Last Eleanor Swift takes a well needed rest in the Riviera, but when they arrive there is already someone there! The Marie is holding Clifford responsible so Lady Eleanor has now chose but to find out the whodunit. With laughs and high japs along the way, Clifford and Lady Eleanor stumble through until they find the clues. Read brilliantly as always by Karen Cass. ❤

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!