Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Eight-Year Lie is a gripping thriller that will have you listening late into the night. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and K.L. Slater.

I know they think I killed my husband. Because they think I’ve killed before.

Eight years ago, a girl I knew died. I try not to think too much about that time, about the person I used to be when that tragedy happened. It hurts too much. Besides, it’s so far in the past. Now, I have a beautiful home and a committed husband. I should be looking to the future.

But then one day, my husband is found dead in the home we built together. The police seem convinced that I had something to do with it - it’s always the wife, right? And it doesn’t help that the police thought I had something to do with that girl’s death, eight years ago, too.

When things seem like they can’t get any worse, I arrive home to find an unwelcome visitor on my doorstep. Even though we were best friends once, it takes a moment for me to recognise her. Because she doesn’t look like herself anymore. She looks like...me. She’s even wearing my favourite perfume.

I can’t help but wonder why she’s here so soon after my husband’s death. Coincidences happen. But in my bones, I know this isn’t that.

©2022 J.M. Hewitt (P)2022 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Eight Year Lie

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.