Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The second book in an emotional and heartwarming WWII series. For fans of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves. 

Dover, 1940

As the Battle of Britain rages, the Castle family are standing their ground at the heart of the community, running Castle's Café. German guns shell Dover and danger lurks around every corner, but despite this, Lily Castle is excited to be starting her nursing career at last. 

Lily is enjoying her life. She's a good nurse, has a group of friends at the hospital and there is romance on the horizon. That is until her world comes crashing down around her. When she tries to help an injured prisoner of war at the hospital, she ends up implicated in a crime. With her career, relationships and reputation at stake, Lily must fight to clear her name - before it's too late.

Meanwhile, there are strange goings on at the café. Rumours are circulating, and there are secrets that won't stay hidden for long. Secrets that could tear the Castle family apart - once and for all.

©2021 Ginny Bell (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Dover Café on the Front Line

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    296
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    282
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    274
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The castle saga

Loved it the narration was really good as well. Cannot wait for the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the Dover cafe

hope the next book is as good as the first 2cant wait .What a story great read and great narrated .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great reading of an interesting story

Lots of twists and turns in this book, some were a little far fetched but it held my attention from beginning to end and I really enjoyed it.
I love Nellie with all her faults , she is my favourite character.
Beautifully narrated too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

I really enjoyed this story. There is a lot going on but not so much that it would be confusing. an excellent book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fabulous book

Just another brilliant book. The second book in this series and I can not wait until September for the third. Fantastic characters continued and has left me hanging for the next …..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another wonderful story.

What wonderful writing and narration. I am hoping that the third book on the series is now available.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dover Cafe series

I was gripped from beginning to end. Can't wait for the third book to be released.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it, l really felt l was there .

l loved this story l really felt that l was there with them throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Decent 2nd Book

Pretty much follows on from the first in the series, it starts just a couple of weeks later. Waiting on the third to be released now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Another wonderful story. Couldn’t put it down. Can’t wait for the next book, The Dover Cafe Under Fire.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EILEEN M MILLER
  • EILEEN M MILLER
  • 28-12-21

Easy Read and very enjoyable

Really enjoyed this book. The family pulls you in and makes you want to know what happens to them next!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-04-22

I love this series

Although the tragedies are there; the humor is also and the characters are wonderful! And ver well narrated!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer AP
  • Kindle Customer AP
  • 03-04-22

Love her work

Ginny Bell takes you to the people. She make the characters come alive and can’t wait until the next book comes out.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for an honest critic
  • an honest critic
  • 18-03-22

Narrative depicts the characters so well.

I love this story, this family, and the way the narrator, Bea Holland portrays each character! I can't wait to listen to Book 3!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DONNAR
  • DONNAR
  • 18-01-22

Love this

I have enjoyed the first two books of this series and look forward to the next in this series.