Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

One sunny August afternoon, the residents of Cedar Close throw their annual summer barbecue. Children play in the cherry-tree lined street, tables are laden with food and the wine is flowing. For Laurie Mills, it’s her first time meeting the neighbours. And it’s the first time she discovers her husband, Robert, is having an affair.

Cedar Close has always been a nice place to live - a quiet suburban street where everyone looks out for one another and bad things don’t happen.

Until late one evening, when Robert Mills is found dead in his bedroom.

Downstairs, in their beautiful kitchen, his wife, Laurie, sits alone in the dark with her head in her hands. 

She can’t remember the last few hours, but she knows she didn’t kill Robert.

The trouble is, no-one believes her....

An utterly gripping thriller about the dark secrets that lie behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney’s The Girl Before and Gone Girl, The Couple on Cedar Close will keep you listening late into the night.

©2019 Anna-Lou Watherley (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Couple on Cedar Close

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    578
  • 4 Stars
    246
  • 3 Stars
    83
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    16
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    623
  • 4 Stars
    181
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    511
  • 4 Stars
    213
  • 3 Stars
    95
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    18

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story - couldn’t put it down!

Another great adventure in the Dan Riley series. I liked the way the murderer was revealed to the reader part way through and you become hooked on the chase to catch them, with DI Riley’s “intuition”. Many twists & turns. I found myself willing the coppers to work the clues and find the killer - had a few late to bed nights because I couldn’t stop listening! There’s a few more police acronyms in this 2nd book which I felt the narrator was reading in code at times, but nothing you can’t work out. The narrator once again did a good job of portraying Riley as the well worn but caring London copper. The story left wide open for another book to come, which I hope turns up soon. Not for a reader who likes “who done it?” Books but great for readers who enjoy the twists & turns of a police chase. Loved it! Hurry up with the next book in the series!!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book/listen

Really enjoying the Denial Reilly series, looking forward to the next edition. I've just discovered this writer and love her style of writng.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable but enjoyable

I love the narrator and Detective Riley so had no trouble listening to the whole story but guessed very early on who was responsible. Still a very good listen but lacked the suspense of the first novel.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved this !

Great from start to finish. Really good storyline. Sorry when I reached the end.Would love more like this.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The couple on cedar close

Brilliant book fascinating story line really enjoyed it. Good narration going to see if there's any more in the series.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as book 1

I downloaded this straight after the first audiobook with Daniel Riley. I cannot deny that I did enjoy this, just not at much as the first one. I wanted to see what happened to the characters, I did, and I will have to listen to book three because of the ending. However, I figured out the story very early on. Obviously this is written by the same author, but the main “femme fatale” character was so similar to the main female character in book one. Her history, methods, thinking etc., were all too similar to the previous one. Hopefully the third instalment will be totally different.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous

Blooming marvelous, from start to finish. only 1 downside, there is no more books in this series 😭

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Compelling!

This is the authors second novel in this series. Both have been very compelling, with excellent, engaging characters, both good and bad. Given her background, I still find this rather surprising, but that is an aside. I very much enjoyed listening to this and found it hard to put down. It loses a star for me due to playing fast and loose with the ethical constraints on the Psychologist regarding confidentially! The narration was also very good and just loses one star due to the ‘now you see me, now you don’t’ and somewhat OTT rendition of the Geordie accent.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I don't recommend

hateful characters, hateful story all around, very minimal "thriller". I don't recommend this book at all.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Twaddle!

Predictable and banal, truly an exercise in endurance...actually quite funny in places, though I don’t think that was the intention!!

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for scott comeaux
  • scott comeaux
  • 24-06-19

I listened to the 1st book

I listened to the first book with Dan Riley as the main character and I gave it 5 stars. This book was great. however, I knew who the killer was very early on in the book. I like to be fooled with my guesses and predicted everything in this book... but it is a great story line.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jan
  • jan
  • 15-06-19

good for commuting

good characters, not especially thrilling or suspenseful but kept me listening. I'll try another by this author

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 31-05-20

A Brit thriller worth the listen

A psychological drama by author Anna-Lou Weatherley and superb narration by James Lailey made this murder mystery kept me wanting more. I did have part of this figured out right away but there are other subplots to keep you on the edge of your seat. And just who is “Kiki”? Expertly narrated by James Lailey (a new and now favored one for me) brings this tale to life with this characters’ voices, including female (sometimes that can be a nightmare). I look forward to more from him. I bought this audiobook for $11. I don’t waste a credit on reasonably priced books. Recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for berry sprague
  • berry sprague
  • 13-10-20

Meh.. repeats over and over

This is the second that I have read by this author. Both books were just okay at best, but this one started off strong and fell hard. I figured out "whodunnit" early on and kept thinking that there would be another twist. It was SO obvious who it was that it was lame. Then, the main character would tell 3 different people the same story of what happened in the chapter, leaving half of the chapter just repeating what you already read. Pass on this one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jkrahnert3
  • jkrahnert3
  • 02-05-20

Predictable thriller

This was a very predictable story but I still enjoyed it for the most part.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MJP
  • MJP
  • 10-06-19

Loved it

I loved this book. The narration was outstanding. All the characters and plot kept you on the edge of your seat. I will look for books by this writer and narrator again! The storyline and narration were outstanding.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Physioz (Sports Physio - Australia)
  • Physioz (Sports Physio - Australia)
  • 10-05-22

Great book; fantastic narration

A tremendous psychological drama by Anna-Lou Weatherley. Although I figured out the killer fairly early on, the plot details and how it was all wrapped up kept me enthralled to the very end. I need to commend James Lailey’s narration. I have almost 400 Audible books, and he is up there with the best of them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Taryn Powell
  • Taryn Powell
  • 08-03-22

Love this author!

Love every one of Ann-Lou Weatherley’s books! Can’t wait for the next one, she is quickly becoming a favorite author!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lizzie
  • Lizzie
  • 11-07-21

Too much language!

The story was very good, but was all the cursing so necessary?!?! The reader was excellent.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PowerUser
  • PowerUser
  • 06-07-21

Boring

Very boring and predictable. The one thing I hope in suspense is that I never should be able to guess. Not in this one.