Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Catacombs

  • World's Scariest Places, Book 2
  • By: Jeremy Bates
  • Narrated by: Lynn Roberts
  • Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Catacombs cover art

The Catacombs

By: Jeremy Bates
Narrated by: Lynn Roberts
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Ghost Stories: Stephen Fry's Definitive Collection cover art
Oblivion Black cover art
Terror in the Shadows, Volumes 1 - 3 cover art
The Abbey cover art
The Exorcist's House cover art
Night Terrors Volumes 1 - 3 cover art
The Creeper cover art
Future Wife cover art
A Vanishing at Loxby Manor cover art
The House at Phantom Park cover art
Lilith cover art
Year's Best Hardcore Horror, Volume 1 cover art
The Winter People cover art
The Ruins cover art
The Mountain Series: Books 1-3 cover art
Miss Etta cover art

Summary

Over one million readers have taken the journey to the world's scariest places. Now it's your turn.

From USA Today and number one Amazon best-selling author Jeremy Bates comes a bone-chilling descent into the tunnels beneath Paris where an unknown evil awaits. AHWA winner for horror. For fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

Paris, France, is known as the City of Lights, a metropolis renowned for romance and beauty. Beneath the bustling streets and cafés, however, exists the Catacombs, a labyrinth of crumbling tunnels filled with six million dead.

When a video camera containing mysterious footage is discovered deep within their depths, a group of friends venture into the tunnels to investigate. But what starts out as a lighthearted adventure takes a turn for the worse when they reach their destination - and stumble upon the evil lurking there.

Although in a series, this is a stand-alone novel. For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Bentley Little, as well as other horror and mystery authors such as Dan Simmons, Jack Ketchum, Robert McCammon, Brian Keene, Darcy Coates, Amy Cross, Jeff Strand, Ambrose Ibsen, Jeremy Robinson, Nick Cutter, Blake Crouch, Joe Hill, Iain Rob Wright, Jeff Menapace, Matt Shaw, Heather Graham, Jack Kilborn, and James Herbert. We hope you enjoy!

©2015 Jeremy Bates (P)2019 Jeremy Bates

What listeners say about The Catacombs

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

kind of predictablebut good

so the plot was a little predictable compared to the first book but it was still worth a listen although I think it would be better with more than one narrator at times

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

better readers needed

this is a great story but the narration was bad. awful monotonous cadence and an inability to pronounce words like nuclear, escape, shone and more really took me out of the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ooh. Intriguing, creepy and poignant

Love how the author weaves in fact with fiction.
Very exciting and tense.
Narration did let it down but I still really it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T
  • 18-07-20

Wow

Loved this book! Mystery, intrigue, gore, coupling up, fantastical wonder.
Definitely a book that I would recommend. It took a little time to get going but still draws you in fully and immerses you in the Catacombs with them.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So not what I hoped it would be.

The accents! If you’re going to have French characters portrayed and the text has French names, phrases… choose a narrator who has some clue… the voices too… there’s so much female dialogue… female, French dialogue…. Read in a deep, flat American voice. Very poor.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!