Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It’s not only secrets that are buried by the water.... A gripping crime thriller from best seller master Nick Louth.

On the tree-lined banks of Surrey’s River Wey, a decaying corpse is dug up by workmen in the middle of an Anglo-Saxon burial site. His modern dental fillings show that this is no Dark Age corpse....

DCI Craig Gillard is called in, but the body’s condition makes identification difficult. One man, however, seems to fit the bill: Ozzy Blanchard, a contractor employed by the same water firm doing the digging who disappeared six months ago, his crashed company car found nearby.

But then an X-ray of the corpse throws the investigation into turmoil. A shard of metal lodged in his neck turns out to be part of an Anglo-Saxon dagger unknown to archaeologists. Who wielded this mystery weapon and why? Does the answer lie in a murderous feud between two local families?

The deeper Gillard digs, the more shocking truths he will uncover.

A totally original crime mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end, The Body Beneath the Willows is an absolute thrill-ride, perfect for fans of Michael Connelly, Ann Cleeves and Mark Billingham.

©2022 Nick Louth (P)2022 W F Howes

What listeners say about The Body Beneath the Willows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    221
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

irritating at first

Like other reviews I found the constant references to Covid early on in the book a tad irritating. But once the book got into its stride it was good and so much better than the previous book. Some if Marston Yorks voices came across as rather silly.
Unfortunately this installment is a far cry from the superb earlier books in the series but still a good listen.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Prophecy

Yet another excellently narrated and well research story. I have listened to all previous books and have difficulty putting them down until I reach the end. I eagerly await the next book in the series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Great story with twists and surprises. Believeable characters that matured as the tale progressed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 16-06-22

An intricate plot!

Another great read, well narrated. This series is among my top favourite detective fiction- was quite pleased to not have had much in the way of private life diversion ‘

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable listen

enjoyable listen as always from Nick louths books involving Craig Gillard. I can't wait to listen to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Compelling

We’ll crafted by a writer who knows his stuff. A wide ranging knowledge of police procedural, village life and the impact of industry on village life. Thoroughly enjoyable. Believable characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story - as always!

Love this series - can’t wait for the next one! As always Nick Louth and his plots entral!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An enjoyable murder mystery

A good story with lots of interesting and varied characters and the occasional humorous moment (usually at the expense of the food in The Anvil)
The narrator was easy to listen to and did lots of different voices successfully although sometimes he made the female characters sound a bit simple.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent thriller

I really enjoyed this found hard to put down. Looking forward to the next book I hope it has been started already and as good as this one x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great crime thriller by Nick Louth

what I love most about Nick Mouth's crime thrillers are that the plot and main characters are so believable . The personal background sub stories add to the reality of the character's lives. The narration is perfect. On to the next one in the series...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 30-01-22

Good Listen

Pace and plot suffer in comparison with other books in this series. Still, intriguing and diverting. I recommend that Audible check the recording quality. Marston York, a great voice actor, sounds garbled occasionally in this work, and the expression and tone of some of his female voices are at odds with the content of their conversations.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucy
  • Lucy
  • 16-06-22

This series is under-rated. It shouldn't be.

These kind of fly under the radar - not sure why. I've really like Craig Gillard from the Get-Go. These are classic 'ensemble' police procedurals. There must be literally millions of them - and they are Not all created equal. These are well-written, and believable with an engaging central character, good supporting characters, and strong narration. Also - they tend NOT to be about savage, crazed, gruesome, sexually deviant serial killers. Nor is Craig an alcoholic harboring a Dark Past. (I've got very sick of all of that - very predictable.) Instead, he's a pretty normal smart guy and good policeman who gets interesting cases and approaches them intelligently. Not every one of the series is absolutely fantastic. But this is one of the good ones.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KarenM
  • KarenM
  • 18-02-22

good as always!!

always a great story! this story may have been a bit more "dry" than usual, but still fantastic! the narration
is flawless.. i definitely have a voice crush! lol! I LOVED the ending .. it gives me hope for another installment!!! PLEASE!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret Rose STRINGER
  • Margaret Rose STRINGER
  • 12-02-22

Back to his best !

Nick Louth, having abandoned the idea of making Craig Gillard a secondary character, has written what could be his best detective novel so far.
The Body beneath the Willows is a terrific script, well planned and meticulously developed along its double route.
It's an excellent example of Louth's ability to convey the everyday drudgery of police work while making it really interesting.
By far my favourite of the nine novels: here's hoping he doesn't stray from the familiar Craig Gillard route again, for it's a most enjoyable way to go.
:)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for maggie Tennesen
  • maggie Tennesen
  • 04-02-22

Excellent

I love this author and reader. Perfect combination .
Timing and rhythm of story is so well developed.