Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A hilarious rom-com for fans of Beach Read and Much Ado About You.

Inspiration can be found in the most unlikely - and inconvenient - places.

Kara Sullivan is definitely not avoiding her deadline. After all, it's the week of her best friend's wedding and she's the maid of honour, so she's got lots of responsibilities. She's a best-selling romance novelist with seven novels under her belt, so she's a pro. Looming deadlines don't scare her and neither does writer's block, which she most certainly does not have. She's just eager to support Cristina as she ties the knot. Right? Right.

But then who should show up at the rehearsal dinner but Kara's college ex-boyfriend, Ryan? Turns out he's one of the groom's childhood friends, and he's in the wedding party, too. Considering neither Kara nor Ryan were prepared to see each other ever again, it's decidedly a meet-not-cute. However, when Kara sits down to write again the next day, her writer's block is suddenly gone. Are muses real? And is Kara's muse...Ryan?

©2021 Kate Bromley (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about Talk Bookish to Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Could be a movie but

Okay…. In general, this book was okay. I don’t think I’d have had the patience to read it in physical book form, but as an audiobook, it was entertaining. I can imagine it as one of those generic, romcom Netflix movies, because the general premise was good and there is a lot of space for an actor to give flavour to the characters, which were not very descriptive.

It was like great potential that was only dipped into - a lot of likeable characters and interesting narratives/topics, but none were really delved into. Some areas were almost empty? The writing and humour was good from the MC, but the writing of her book, almost satirical pride and prejudice, was really awful…

Leading from the lack of real development or insight into the characters… Ryan just does not make the rom com cut… ahh!! No… May none of us be Madison :( a tricky slope to go down and a lot of grovelling near the end to try and redeem him.

There wasn’t a great selling of him as a character in general throughout the book, so even if the ending had redeemed him, there was nothing making me want her to forgive him… a lot of nostalgia for the past.. and so, in the words of Elsa, let it go.

I feel bad because this author is obviously a bookish gal and her writing is great. In the least patronising way I just want her to write another book and use all that skill and booksta knowledge to go further.