Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The gorgeously summery new book from Sue Moorcroft, coming May 2022.

Sparkling sun, strolls in the gorgeous French countryside, that first sip of cool, crisp wine—summer is Kat’s favourite season. And this year should be no exception....

As soon as Kat Jenson set foot in the idyllic French village of Kirchhoffen, she knew she’d found her home. Now she has a dreamy boyfriend, a delightful dog and the perfect job managing a bustling book café in the vibrant Parc Lemmel.

But when she learns her boyfriend isn’t all he seems, it’s the start of a difficult summer for Kat. Vindictive troublemakers, work woes and family heartache follow, and the clear blue sky that was her life suddenly seems full of clouds.

Then she gets to know the mysterious Noah, and her sun begins to shine brighter than ever. But Noah has problems of his own—ones that could scupper their new-found happiness. Together, can they overcome their many obstacles and find love again?

The perfect summer story for fans of Trisha Ashley, Sarah Morgan and Carole Matthews. 

©2022 Sue Moorcroft (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Must read!" (Daily Express)

"I love all of Sue Moorcroft’s books!" (Katie Fforde)

"Effortlessly engaging…a magical must!" (Heat)

What listeners say about Summer at the French Café

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

100% one of the best

This was the 70th audible this year. Yeas I’m keeping a list. It was in the top 5. Such a lovely book centred around a dream book and coffee shop with pastries. It was just brilliant

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lose yourself in a wonderful story

From the outset of the book I totally lost myself in the story and the places that Sue covers in this book. The characters are believable, the settings come alive and (for me) best of all is the inclusion of a very real and rather wonderful dog. I don't often listen to books for a second time, but this is one I will definitely be going back to.
You will be drawn into the story and the issues covered, whilst at the same time being transported to beautiful scenery.
The narration fits the story perfectly.
Excellent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Top marks from Tess!

A fabulous story of love, morals and family complexities. The realism and natural-feeling relationships are as wonderful as I’d expect from Sue Moorcroft, and Georgia Maguire’s narration has a beautiful flow that really brings the story to life.