Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You thought she was safe. You were wrong....

Alex knows her daughter would never wander off in a strange place. So when her three-year-old vanishes from an idyllic beach wedding, Alex immediately believes the worst.

The hunt for Lottie quickly becomes a world-wide search, but it’s not long before suspicion falls on her mother. Why wasn’t she watching Lottie? 

Alex knows she’s not perfect, but she loves her child. And with all eyes on her, Alex fears they’ll never uncover the truth unless she takes matters into her own hands.

Who took Lottie Martini? And will she ever come home?

A totally addictive thriller, with a twist you just won’t see coming. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Louise Candlish and T.M. Logan will be totally gripped from the very first word. 

©2021 Tess Stimson (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Stolen

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tawny
  • Tawny
  • 09-08-21

Please 🛑 with the politics

Not sure why I waste my time typing reviews like this, because despite the lack of profanity, they always seem to disappear from audible reviews, especially those that are found to be the most helpful. Freedom of speech is a thing of the past. So on to my wasted review....

This is SO FRUSTRATING... there are so many things to like about this one, but I am tired of supporting international authors, only to realize I’m listening to a White American Bash Book, which seems to be the new normal.

Just one more piece of evidence that every other country, and half of my own, now sees America as a joke. And they definitely see Florida as a joke. I have never in my life heard a politician stand up and speak the way the Florida governor was imitated.

The author got one thing right… The media in America is a joke, and it’s the reason that “everything is about race in America” (quote from the book) and equality and looking for something to be mad about constantly. Nothing our media has done has driven this country closer together, but it is destroying us. The entertainment industry is just as bad.

But this person is out of their mind if they think that a MAN in America who had previously left his kid in a hot car, had eye-witness testimony of public displays of anger, and whose kid is now missing, would not be ridiculed in the media. That’s a stretch to make the “equality” point. Alex suddenly laying into the reporter because “a man wouldn’t be judged the same way” feels like everything else these days, excuses.

What I love about the book is the sarcastic humor that is present throughout the first few chapters, and the overall plot is intriguing and definitely twisted. I like many of the messages... how we don’t know about all of the missing children, especially among minorities. But the constant politics was just too much. Without it, I would’ve given this book 4 stars.

However, there are other issues with this book. There are multiple narrators listed, but for 90% of the book, you hear the same one. If the narrator is changing, it is very difficult to tell. There are also details that just don’t work. For example, Alex says the woman who had her daughter appeared to be young with an unlined face, yet in the next paragraph she says she couldn’t tell them her hair color because she only saw her from the waist down. The police, or no one else, seems to notice. There are lots of little things like that, but that doesn’t bother me half as much as the politics.

I’m sad to give this book such a negative review, because it really is a good story. But I’m tired of the same sad song and dance when all I want to do is hear some fiction and escape reality. I wish these authors would go do a TED talk instead of peppering their psychological thrillers with politics.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Artsybiker
  • Artsybiker
  • 17-08-21

Excellent!

A gripping journey of twists and turns. Couldn’t quit listening! So many cliffhangers from chapter to chapter. The narration was beautifully done as well. Next one please Tess!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janda
  • Janda
  • 26-05-22

So good

Kept me on edge of my seat the whole time!!! Can't wait to read more from Tess!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Conscientious Consumer
  • Conscientious Consumer
  • 09-05-22

AWFUL!!!

This book is actually pretty interesting until the end. This book has the WORST ending I have ever read. Think soap opera, probably even worse than that. Also, the narrator can NOT do an Italian accent and really needs to learn how to speak without a mouth full of saliva. There is just nothing at all good about this heap of trash. Wasted a credit on this book that should be burnt

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katie C Zobel
  • Katie C Zobel
  • 27-04-22

Too much!

The character, Quinn was too much, had an annoying personality. Twists and turns in the plot aren’t enjoyable when there is one every page, almost like the author had no idea where they wanted to go with the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tammy
  • Tammy
  • 14-01-22

Long book, great for a long roadtrip.

Excellent book for a long road trip. I drove 1000 miles listening to this book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashley
  • Ashley
  • 28-11-21

meh

IDK maybe I wasn't in the mood for this kinda story. I'm not sure I gave it a shot twice and each time I gave up on it, just wasn't able to get into it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cooper
  • Cooper
  • 08-09-21

Fantastic!

Great ending! Loved the characters and the roles…couldn’t stop listening…plan to listen to it again.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Austen'sAwesome
  • Austen'sAwesome
  • 21-08-21

Ridiculous ending, but kept me listening

Good performance, interesting story, kept me guessing. Disappointing ending because it was preposterous, but I didn’t hate it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 12-08-21

Longer than it needs to be

This could have been better if they cut a few hours off. Forced to go through over 2 years after the event. Not sure why she made the reporter that messed up. Like it wasn't bad enough having her majorly disfigured by a bomb in Seria. A lot of weirdness, might ruin if explained. It was like she was trying to add as much action with as many characters as possible. Thought it was taking the typical middle east stereotypical turn for a while. I just got bored with the middle 4 hours.