Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

£0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Silenced for Good cover art

Silenced for Good

By: Alex Coombs
Narrated by: Carolyn Bonnyman
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

Find Her Alive cover art
The Sea Detective cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
The Dark Tide cover art
Vice cover art
First Blood cover art
Last Girl Gone cover art
The Bad Things cover art
White Heron cover art
When You Find Me cover art
Breakneck Point cover art
Sea of Bones cover art
Capitol Break cover art
The Devil Stone cover art
Waking Nightmare cover art
City of the Lost cover art

Summary

## Can she catch the killer before someone else is silenced for good...?

Detective Hanlon is addicted to violence. She likes the rush, the danger, the losing control...

When Hanlon is suspended from the force for assaulting a suspect, she escapes to the remote Scottish island of Jura, home to the mysterious Corryvreckan whirlpool.

But wherever Hanlon goes, violence is sure to follow.

As soon as she checks into The Mackinnon Arms, Hanlon senses something isn't quite right about the staff at her home for the week.

Sure enough, within days of arriving, the body of a member of staff is found floating in the sea. While police believe she was claimed by the local whirlpool, Hanlon isn't so sure.

As she pieces together the evidence, dark secrets begin to unravel. Can Hanlon work out what is going on before another floating body is found...?

Discover an addictive crime series, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Regan.

©2020 Alex Coombs (P)2020 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Silenced for Good

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,686
  • 4 Stars
    744
  • 3 Stars
    244
  • 2 Stars
    51
  • 1 Stars
    35
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,857
  • 4 Stars
    509
  • 3 Stars
    136
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    29
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,471
  • 4 Stars
    722
  • 3 Stars
    238
  • 2 Stars
    78
  • 1 Stars
    39

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable listen.

A cast of very different individuals. No two people are alike but here we have predominantly non conformists each driven by their own demons. As a result, there are very few left alive by the end of this whodunnit. The correct result brought this tale to a satisfying conclusion but you’ll be hard pushed to predict the ending.
Well worth listening to

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Northwest listener

an excellent book, turning it off was challenging and couldn't wait to turn it on again. I found the descriptive elements of West coast of Scotland very interesting. The plot line was even better, I got it wrong till near the end. Great narration great story

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good listen

I did enjoy this, although a bit too wordy at times. A good ending which was a surprise

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

review

enjoyed listening to this audio book. it has a great twist in the tail. worth while

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Alex Coombs is now on my list of ‘go to’ authors. A thoroughly enjoyable story and extremely well narrated by Carolyn Bonnyman. I’m looking forward to reading the next instalment and I’m pleased to see I have a few to follow on as well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good after once you get used to the slow pace

I enjoy this book and I'm glad I continued listening. Pace a bit too slow for my liking and I almost stopped listening after a few minutes but I enjoyed the story and I'm glad I didn't. I'll be listening to book 2 now

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard work

I found this book long and hard work at times. I’m glad I kept going as it had a great twist but honestly I could have given up easily on more than one occasion but I find it hard to stop any book read or audible… if you have time to kill give it a go.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but...

This is a great thriller. Strong characters, complex plot. It's well read but the audio editor leaves gaps long enough to make you think its died in your ears! Have patience. It's worth it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed

Despite other reviews I did enjoy this book. Easy listening and looking forward to reading the rest in series. A new author for me and I thought the narrator was good

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining!

I liked the heroine of the story, very attaching with her flaws and weaknesses.
The plot was good, the Scottish accents sometimes a real challenge for a non-native, but the slow pace of the narration made it easier to understand.
All in all, a very nice thriller! With a sequel, I suppose… ;-)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!