Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it's her turn to get even.

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn't like to let people to get too close - she knows how much damage they can do.

Then one ordinary day, Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it's Anna's chance to set things straight, but her revenge needs to be executed carefully....

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows.... But as Anna's obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous, or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

©2016 KMW Enterprises Limited (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Safe with Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,369
  • 4 Stars
    966
  • 3 Stars
    492
  • 2 Stars
    124
  • 1 Stars
    48
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,743
  • 4 Stars
    707
  • 3 Stars
    222
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    19
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,146
  • 4 Stars
    833
  • 3 Stars
    509
  • 2 Stars
    163
  • 1 Stars
    77

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A chilling thriller

The story was very good, Anna is a well thought out character, with depth and this comes through in the story telling.

There are a few chapters are slow but can be overlooked because of the length of the book.

I listened to the book while driving and the story got quite intense that I had to switch it off to recover and focus on what I was doing.

The narration was very good, loads of changes in voice and speed making for a gripping and very intense listen.

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • DC
  • 08-05-17

Hard to follow

This book was ok but the story line was a little bit all over the place for an audible book. It was a little hard to follow. I really wanted to love it but it wasn't as good as other psychological thrillers I have read or listened to.

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Okay...

The story started off good but I started to feel quite irritated with the main character.

Ending was okay.

I don't think I could listen to it again.

Narration is good.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent read.

What does Lucy Price-Lewis bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Excellent narrator.

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed Safe With Me. The story unfolded in a intriguing and interesting way and the ending is unpredictable. Upon finishing the book, I immediately bought Blink by the same author and was not disappointed.
One slight criticism would be that there are a few too many mentally disturbed characters.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • S
  • 18-03-17

A welcome change

Different from my usual read but very enjoyable. would recommend as a good holiday read.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Couldn't put this down had to keep listening story was so interesting and so life like in many cases

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Definitely worth a listen

A very good story, lots of twists and turns though I felt the ending could have been a bit better. Definitely worth a listen though!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Disappointing End - Seemed somewhat rushed

what the heck happened at the end. everything brilliant up to Chapter 70 - then all hell broke loose. Far too many loose ends or not properly explained. Up to Chapter 70 I just couldn't stop listening - such a shame.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A stunning read

The story grips you throughout, but slightly disappointing ending does let it down a bit

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So many twists and turns

This was so well written and narratted ending in a whirlwind crescendo! Probably the best book I've listened to on audible, whereby you keep turning against the protagonist doubting her until the epic finale which h is my only gripe; what was the smell? How did Boris end up at Anna's? A few unanswered questions but did not distract from a truly epic story! If you liked girl on the train you'll love this even more

9 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ROBIN
  • ROBIN
  • 21-03-17

Different... good different!

I listen to a lot of books from this genre, and it's nice to find one that is interesting and different from the rest. This one has several story lines and twists and a revealing ending. Kind of creepy, but highly recommendable! The narration was perfect.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lizzystick
  • Lizzystick
  • 28-04-17

Interesting crazy people

This Book was really interesting and full of great crazy people. The main character is not all that likable and I found myself cringing at her actions throughout the book... but I found myself rooting for her anyway. The overall plot is a bit far fetched but interesting characters made the book enjoyable. Even though I figured out who is really the bad person fairly early I was invested enough in the outcome to not want to stop listening. Narration was really good almost 5 stars.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 10-07-17

All of the characters are clinically insane!

The best thing I can say about Safe With Me is that it kept my interest; a train wreck would also keep my interest. The comparison to a train wreck is apt. There are also many plot twists that can not be easily foreseen. I recently wrote a 5 star review of Liar which is another psychological thriller by K.L. Slater. Safe With Me is not nearly as worthwhile.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gwendolyn
  • Gwendolyn
  • 20-05-17

Cheated

Have to say that this is not a good psychological thriller. Most of the book's focus is on a tragedy 13 years before, and how those lives are affected. The story goes back and forth as events unfold. Suddenly, the story switches up and the focus and ending are about 2 people unrelated to the tragedy. It's like the author got bored with the plot, changed the focus of the story and tacks on an ending that leaves you feeling cheated. I will not bother with this author again!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna M Dunnam
  • Anna M Dunnam
  • 12-07-17

Intriguing story

It kept making me think I knew what was going to happen, yet, it would go in a different direction. Great story!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Han Moreno
  • Han Moreno
  • 16-03-17

Love the build up of suspense.

Very good audiobook to listen to. The suspense was building up as the chapter progressive. Only thing to say in my listening was that the audio and the physical book did not correlated with the chapter in the book but I still manage to listen to it. For example, the audible book said this certain chapter but in the physical book it was a different chapter. Anyways, I would recommend this for anybody that likes the suspense throughout the story.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Booberkitty
  • Booberkitty
  • 10-09-17

To Lengthy

The story drug on with very little surprises, the ending was bland, yet I will say once I started the book I had to see how it would end. The narrator was great.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim
  • Kim
  • 26-09-17

Not the best

This book was very drawn out on the story- I think it could have been shorter. Anna was very predictable and she was not really an interesting character. All in all it was a book I could have lived without listening to. Save your credit for something with more substance.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathy J Hunter
  • Cathy J Hunter
  • 19-04-17

Now and then

The past time and the now time switches in narration gets a bit tedious. Not much of surprise about the culprit.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaney S Cornell
  • Shaney S Cornell
  • 08-07-22

Disappointed - Spoiler

I kept waiting and waiting for Anna to be held accountable for her manipulation, lies, and overall horrific behavior. She was a devious and disgusting as a lead character, and not at all sympathetic. To give her a clean pass at the end was just ridiculous, and suddenly making the accident victim the "bad guy" was super flimsy and didn't hold up the story line at all. Super un-satisfying is the way I would best describe this sad tale, as there wasn't a single character to root for.

2 people found this helpful