Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • SAS Great Escapes

  • Seven Great Escapes Made by Real Second World War Heroes
  • By: Damien Lewis
  • Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
  • Length: 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (1,062 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
SAS Great Escapes cover art

SAS Great Escapes

By: Damien Lewis
Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listen to clips from the audiobook

<i>SAS Great Escapes</i> by Damien Lewis
Meet the man behind the medals, Captain Roy Alexander Farran
Discover the lie that changed Corporal Jack Vincent Byrne's life forever
Learn how Lieutenant Thomas Bennett Langton's childhood shaped his career
  • SAS Great Escapes by Damien Lewis
  • Meet the man behind the medals, Captain Roy Alexander Farran
  • Discover the lie that changed Corporal Jack Vincent Byrne's life forever
  • Learn how Lieutenant Thomas Bennett Langton's childhood shaped his career
Operation Overview | 1. Nikaia, Athens, Greece. Date: August 1941. SAS Superman: Captain Roy Alexander Farran, 3rd The King’s Own Hussars.| 2. Benghazi Plain, Eastern Libya. Date: March 1942. SAS Superman: Corporal Jack Vincent Byrne, Gordon Highlanders. | 3. Tobruk, North-East Libya. Date: September 1942. SAS Superman: Lieutenant Thomas Bennett Langton, Irish Guards. | 4. Porto San Giórgio, Northern Italy. Date: September 1943. SAS Superman: Sergeant John Edward ‘Jim’ Almonds, Coldstream Guards. | 5. River Tiber, Central Italy. Date: January 1944. SAS Superman: Lieutenant James ‘Jimmy’ Quentin Hughes, 208 Anti-Aircraft Training Regiment. | 6. Oise, Northern France. Date: September 1944. SAS Superman: Corporal Serge Vaculik, 3rd Parachute Chasseur Regiment. |7. Vosges Mountains, France. Date: July 1944. SAS Superman: Flight Officer Ronald Lewis ‘Lew’ Fiddick, Royal Canadian Air Force.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Accidental Spy cover art
Paddy Mayne cover art
SBS – Silent Warriors cover art
SAS cover art
Eye of the Storm cover art
The Colditz Story cover art
After Dunkirk cover art
Operation Absolom cover art
Australia's Secret Army cover art
Invading Hitler's Europe cover art
Escaping with His Life cover art
Scholars of Mayhem cover art
Concorde cover art
The Greatest Escape cover art
Albanian Assignment cover art
SAS: Sea King Down cover art

Behind the scenes

Watch our exclusive interview with Damien Lewis as he discusses SAS Great Escapes.
0:00

About the author

Award-winning author Damien Lewis has penned over a dozen books, topping best seller lists worldwide. His WWII special forces books are a publishing phenomenon, and several are being made into movies or TV series. He also scripts his own work as films. His modern elite forces books include the No. 1 best seller Zero Six Bravo, and his man-and-dog at war true stories include the phenomenally successful War Dog, which is being developed as a movie. He also writes thrillers, and his first, Cobra Gold, is being made into a film by LA-based Safadi Entertainment.

Summary

No food. No water. Out of ammo. Safety is south. But between there and here is 150 miles of barren desert – freezing at night, boiling in the day – populated solely by Ernst Rommel’s fearsome and deadly Afrika Corps.

What would you do?

Give up? Or get on with it?

For the seven SAS supermen in Damien Lewis’s explosive new audio exclusive, the answer was simple: Escape. Evade. Survive. From the mountains of Italy, to the deserts of Africa, these heroes epitomise the bravery, esprit de corps and daring do of Britain’s finest elite fighting force.

Fans of Ant Middleton’s First Man In and Ben MacIntyre’s SAS: Rogue Heroes are in for a treat, as the SAS’s master chronicler, Damien Lewis, has produced a gripping, heart-in-the-mouth, real-life thriller. A Sunday Times number one best-selling author, this fresh look at the most audacious escapes the SAS made in the Second World War is white-knuckle listening of the highest calibre.

Because if you put a fence in front of these men...they’ll climb it.

©2020 Damien Lewis (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

About the performer

Leighton Pugh studied German and Italian at The Queen’s College, Oxford before training at LAMDA. Leighton's many stage credits include The Lehman Trilogy, Macbeth and The Birthday Party, amongst others. For audio, Leighton has lent his voice to a myriad of fiction and non-fiction tomes, from Ragnar Jonasson’s ‘Dark Iceland’ crime series to The New Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan and Talking to My Daughter About the Economy by Yanis Veroufakis. His radio credits include Scenes from Provincial Life, Murder by the Book and The Tragical Adventures of Heinrich von Kleist.

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about SAS Great Escapes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    859
  • 4 Stars
    161
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    735
  • 4 Stars
    152
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    778
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Sheer class grit and determination showed by the men of the then new SAS a must read/listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping and humbling

A superb and easy listen on a subject that has always fascinated me. We sit here today with all the problems of the world around us but must remember the heroes and their sacrifice that allowed us the opportunity.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

epic stories

really enjoyed this one, so captivating and I liked that each chapter was a different story

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly engaging

Wonderfully told, with honesty and pride. The in-depth research is clear. The human spirit pours from every page.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

Loved the detail in this book. I feel like I watched a film and loved every second

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great escape book.

I thought it was a great listen, I listened while on long walks. Wind, rain or shine.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As the crow flies

Great stories, Damien lewis's books are riveting, as always. He should just limit his usage of the phrase 'as the crow flies'. It get's annoying when you hear a certain distance and after that immediatly 'as the cr..' I have to put the book down. But that is just personal. A great and interesting book about the origin and history of the SAS 10/10

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Epic story of bravery and ingenuity, some of the men completed multiple attempts to escape and never gave up. Felt like I was there for every attempt

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book. Certainly recommend

Well written book and well narrated. Excellent stories of very courageous individuals. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional

A must read. The bravery of all involved to make this book possible.
Thank you

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!