Listen free for 30 days

  • Pride and Premeditation

  • Jane Austen Murder Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Tirzah Price
  • Narrated by: Morag Sims
  • Length: 8 hrs and 30 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pride and Premeditation cover art

Pride and Premeditation

By: Tirzah Price
Narrated by: Morag Sims
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £26.19

Buy Now for £26.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

One of BuzzFeed's best YA books of 2021!

Perfect for fans of the Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper, the first book in the Jane Austen Murder Mysteries trilogy is a clever retelling of Pride and Prejudice that reimagines the iconic settings, characters, and romances in a thrilling and high-stakes whodunit.

When a scandalous murder shocks London high society, 17-year-old aspiring lawyer Lizzie Bennet seizes the opportunity to prove herself, despite the interference of Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the stern young heir to the prestigious firm Pemberley Associates. 

Convinced the authorities have imprisoned the wrong person, Lizzie vows to solve the murder on her own. But as the case - and her feelings for Darcy - become more complicated, Lizzie discovers that her dream job could make her happy, but it might also get her killed.

Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three-book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy.

Pride and Premeditation is followed by Sense and Second-Degree Murder, in which aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood and her sister Marianne, a budding detective, work together to solve the mystery of their father’s murder.

©2021 Tirzah Price (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Pride and Premeditation

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful book

I really enjoyed this audio book. It's a perfect lazy Sunday listen. There was humour, murder, mystery and of course, love in it. It's true that it wasn't historically accurate, but if I were after historical accuracy, then I would be listening to history books. Some people might not like it because it's a rewritten version of Austen's classic, but I personally thought that it was cleverly done. I liked how Lizzie's character developed throughout the book and that she wasn't afraid of admitting it to herself when she was wrong. If you like murder mysteries and headstrong, intelligent heroines, then I hope you'll enjoy this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E Hillian
  • E Hillian
  • 20-04-21

Enjoyable

From a huge Pride and Prejudice fan I can say this book was fun. I enjoyed the spin off version of events with original references sprinkled throughout. A good reimagining of the characters too. I would recommend.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Bond
  • Michelle Bond
  • 01-12-21

Delightful!

A fun twist on the classic! I really enjoyed how the author blended the original characters with the new story and incorporated a few of the more famous lines into the conversations. It was a good mystery with a few surprises. I’m looking forward to the next book by this author!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emily Anthon
  • Emily Anthon
  • 11-11-21

Delightful

I own several variations of Austen’s works but this by far has become my favorite. Forgiving all that the author listed in her notes I found this simply wonderful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steph V
  • Steph V
  • 12-09-21

LOVED this!!

I have always told my husband that my favorite reads are torn between a good murder mystery and a well written romance. This book encompasses both in a truly enjoyable way. I liked the fact that even though I was previously familiar with Austin's characters, Price wrote them in a way that kept their basic personalities and characteristics while adding more depth. Best part was that I honestly had not guessed the who the murderer was ahead of time. Highly recommended!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Danielle
  • Danielle
  • 30-04-21

LOVE EVERY SECOND!!!!

I LOVED this book. I’m EXTREMELY upset that I can’t go straight to the next two in the series but they will be mine as soon as they are out!!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julesof 6
  • Julesof 6
  • 06-09-21

I enjoyed this book very much!

This was very pleasurably entertaining! I enjoyed the reader and story line very much!Thank you!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Titus
  • Mary Titus
  • 10-07-21

Such a fun spin on pride and prejudice

I Loved every minute of it! Pride and prejudice is one of my favorite books, and this was such a fun spin on it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-01-23

Delightful, well read, entertaining, and nostalgic!

I enjoyed it! A nice easy listen, excellent voices by the reader, and plenty of references to pride and prejudice. The characters were familiar, and the murderous twist was a fun way to shake things up. Worth a listen. :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-01-23

Jane Austen Style Mystery

Fun listen. slightly predictable but so is Jane Austen. Great relaxing book to just simply enjoy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lb
  • lb
  • 18-08-22

Fun take on a known story

I enjoyed how characters that I am familiar with were put in a new story. Die hard fans may not love this take, but it was fun to see how the characters were used and reimagined.