Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £15.59

Buy Now for £15.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Anna’s hands tense on Alice and she hesitates. In that endless pause, I see all I need to know. She doesn’t want to give Alice to me - not now, and not ever. And part of me doesn’t even blame her.... 

Milly always dreamed of being a mother. Adopted herself, she has always imagined a powerful, intimate connection with a child of her own. So when she and her husband Matt are told they can’t have children, her dreams are shattered. 

But then their loved ones offer the ultimate gift - Milly’s best friend Anna and Matt’s brother Jack will be donors, so that Milly can carry a child and finally have a chance to be a mother. And with everyone accepting and open, Milly believes that nothing could go wrong. 

Except none of the four people involved are prepared for the feelings that will threaten their most important relationships as their precious, longed-for daughter Alice grows up and receives a heartbreaking diagnosis. 

Then those who love her best will have to decide what it means to be a parent, and to make decisions with far-reaching and devastating consequences...for Alice, and for themselves. 

A powerful, heart-breaking novel guaranteed to make you cry, for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Gracie’s Secret.  

"Heart-wrenching and captivating… as good as anything Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain have ever written… gripping, engrossing and compelling." (bookishjottings.wordpress.com) 

"Oh my gosh! This book is sad, thrilling, gripping and completely pulls on your heart strings… Full of heartache, tough decisions, dilemmas, drama and struggles of everyday life… In two words, simply amazing!" (booksontheshelf.wordpress.com)

"One of the most poignant and life affirming novels… Beautiful, thought-provoking, insightful….and everything in between… Keep the tissues handy, you’re going to need them." (thewritinggarnet.wordpress.com)

©2019 Kate Hewitt (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Not My Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

NOT MY DAUGHTER

Very disappointed and very depressing would not recommend this book to anyone who suffers from depression

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enthralling...

This book was really interesting with a fascinating storyline and characters. It dealt with a number of traumatic social issues intertwining these experiences with great skill. Painful in many parts and not a glossy happy ending but well-written and thought-provoking. The audio performance was excellent and helped bring each character to life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh Boy

Beautiful story though I cried throughout it
the ending at least is upbeat and positive

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant.

A happy sad book, that you can't help becoming involved in. Read beautifully and with character that makes listening a pleasure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Emotional and full of life’s grey areas. I really enjoyed this book and the narrator was great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Loved listening to this book. Was very emotional and sad but had some happy moments aswell.
This book helps you to understand some struggles people go through with different diagnosis and so it’s good to hear a story about how a family coped with a disease on there child. It was lovely to hear how they make her life as fun as they can and enjoy every moment with her. Very inspirational!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A breathtakingly emotional story.

Although very tragic it was a story that i could barely put down. truly AMAZING!!! I now want to read more of her stories!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent moving story told beautifully

I thoroughly enjoyed this moving and surprisingly deep story. It had many twists and turns such that the title was fitting for different characters in different ways. Excellent indeed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

just wow

perfectly written i couldn't stop listening. I can't wait to get started on the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

emotional and gentle

I really enjoyed this intelligent and gentle book ... a rollercoaster but a caring and compassionate look at a very emotive subject

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lucy loparco
  • lucy loparco
  • 04-06-19

Story interesting

The characters were interesting .The social difficults of infertile and post
Partum depression were described in real manners .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia Crabtree
  • Cynthia Crabtree
  • 01-04-22

I'm not crying you are...

I loved everything about this book and actually cried a couple of times with it Judy piccoult is currently my all time favorite author at this moment at I've listened to all her books and she suggested this one and this author and I love it I'm here for itherefore it great book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eileen
  • Eileen
  • 12-09-21

10 stars

Everything about this book was amazing, I cannot even put into words all the emotions I felt. The narrator ABSOLUTELY hit a home run with this book.