Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Nophek Gloss

  • The Graven, Book 1
  • By: Essa Hansen
  • Narrated by: Dan Bittner
  • Length: 15 hrs and 51 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Nophek Gloss cover art

Nophek Gloss

By: Essa Hansen
Narrated by: Dan Bittner
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

Steel World cover art
All Systems Red cover art
Convergence cover art
Generation Ship cover art
The Last Watch cover art
Children of Time cover art
Artifact Space cover art
Shoot the Messenger cover art
The Empyrean cover art
Omega Taskforce cover art
Entwined Fates cover art
The Spare Man cover art
The Eurynome Code cover art
Those Left Behind cover art
The Culling Series Boxed Set: Books 1-3 cover art
Elantris (2 of 3) [Dramatized Adaptation] cover art

Summary

In this dark, dangerous, roller coaster of a debut, a young man sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across a breathtaking multiverse filled with aliens, mind-bending tech and ships beyond his wildest imagining. Essa Hansen's is a bold new voice for the next generation of science-fiction fans.

Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

From one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction comes Nophek Gloss - an action-packed space adventure perfect for fans of Star Wars, Children of Time and The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet.

Finalist for r/Fantasy Stabby Awards for Best Debut!

One of the most highly praised science fiction debuts of the year.

©2020 Essa Hansen (P)2020 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"An exceptional debut [...] reads like a Becky Chambers novel crossed with Firefly." (Michael Mammay, author of Planetside)

"A sucker punch to the senses [...] a killer story with real heart and soul." (Alastair Reynolds)

"Gripping and inventive, Nophek Gloss will delight even as it breaks your heart." (Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of Velocity Weapon)

What listeners say about Nophek Gloss

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic new space opera right when we need one

How wonderful, just when the genre seems full of men/women in tights with ridiculous superpowers and endless, soulless clones of better novels Hensen’s “Nophek Gloss” offers up an original book in the space opera genre. Attention to detail, plot lines and an ability to bring her rich characters to life suggest we will be seeing more, a lot more of Essa Hansen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Great read, interesting storyline told very well, character build up full and detailed, looking forward to the next instalment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

My first dabble in Sci-Fi didn’t disappoint

I’d seen this book on Twitter as I follow the author for her other work and, after seeing some positive words about it, thought I’d give it a spin.

The story and characters are engaging and I really enjoyed the flow of the book. I spent most of my time imagining Arcane style imagery in my head to play the story out.

The narrator performance is sublime, really really good.

I look forward to digging into the sequel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!