Listen free for 30 days

  • Nophek Gloss

  • The Graven, Book 1
  • By: Essa Hansen
  • Narrated by: Dan Bittner
  • Length: 15 hrs and 51 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

In this dark, dangerous, roller coaster of a debut, a young man sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across a breathtaking multiverse filled with aliens, mind-bending tech and ships beyond his wildest imagining. Essa Hansen's is a bold new voice for the next generation of science-fiction fans. 

Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans. 

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying. 

From one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction comes Nophek Gloss - an action-packed space adventure perfect for fans of Star Wars, Children of Time and The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet.

Finalist for r/Fantasy Stabby Awards for Best Debut!

One of the most highly praised science fiction debuts of the year.

©2020 Essa Hansen (P)2020 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"An exceptional debut [...] reads like a Becky Chambers novel crossed with Firefly." (Michael Mammay, author of Planetside)

"A sucker punch to the senses [...] a killer story with real heart and soul." (Alastair Reynolds)

"Gripping and inventive, Nophek Gloss will delight even as it breaks your heart." (Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of Velocity Weapon)

More from the same

What listeners say about Nophek Gloss

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

My first dabble in Sci-Fi didn’t disappoint

I’d seen this book on Twitter as I follow the author for her other work and, after seeing some positive words about it, thought I’d give it a spin.

The story and characters are engaging and I really enjoyed the flow of the book. I spent most of my time imagining Arcane style imagery in my head to play the story out.

The narrator performance is sublime, really really good.

I look forward to digging into the sequel.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Az
  • Az
  • 12-12-21

A coming of age melodrama for grownups

The premise of the book is fun. There are many universes which sentient beings have learnt to traverse, control and even create. In one of these universes there’s an animal that creates a substance that allows the multiverse economy to function (not a million miles from Dune’s gimme). It should be fun, but there’s so much coming of age teenage-like angst it’s just dull. Except when it sits alongside long-winded, detailed descriptions of ultraviolence. Not a fan of that either. I stuck with it till the last 90 minutes when I just lost interest.