Listen free for 30 days

  • Murder on Board

  • A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 10
  • By: Helena Dixon
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 7 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (55 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Murder on Board cover art

Murder on Board

By: Helena Dixon
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Kitty Underhay is drowning...in murder.

Kitty Underhay hopes for plain sailing as she caters a 21st birthday party for the chief constable’s daughter aboard a luxury paddle steamer. So her heart sinks when she learns that the man her fiancé Matthew has been tailing on orders from Whitehall, Gunther Freiburg, is aboard. And she’s even more horrified when she steps below deck to discover Gunther, dead in the engine room. One of the chief constable’s party must be responsible for his demise, but who, and why?

And the evening is on course for further disaster. As the lights go out around the candlelit cake, a terrible scream rings out over the merry hubbub. A priceless diamond necklace has been snatched from around the birthday girl’s neck.... Something fishy is going on, but is this the work of the same sailing assassin, or is it a red herring?

With the local inspector in deep water having to investigate his own boss, Kitty and Matt dive in to help. But when Kitty’s eavesdropping puts her in mortal danger, will everything turn out shipshape, or will it be her turn to go swimming with the fishes?

A totally cozy, absolutely gripping historical murder mystery for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey, and Lee Strauss.

©2022 Helena Dixon (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder on Board

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story as usual

Love Helena Dixon.Karen Cass is a brilliant narrator
.Was kept guessing right to the end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

How do I wait?

Yet another great book from Helena Dixon and beautifully read.
I can’t wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murder on Board

Another brilliant murder mystery where a body is discovered after a birthday party curse for the daughter of the Head of police, leaving a short list of potential suspects. This means investigation and questioning becomes more difficult to be impartial, then her necklace with a large diamond is stolen too. What a tangle, with all these things Captain Bryant and Miss Underhay are asked to help out. This story skips along with the discovery of clues appearing as you go. Read brilliantly again by the lovely voice of Karen Cass.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Bertie the dog!

This was a really enjoyable story, with a wonderful performance by Karen Cass. The setup and structure of the book was refreshing with a solid arc. I love this book series and look forward to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katharine E. Warren
  • Katharine E. Warren
  • 20-12-22

Still cute but lacking substance

I still very much enjoy these books but this one seemed to lack substance. It feels like it was written quickly. Did not leave a lot of guessing like the others.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CrisG
  • CrisG
  • 06-11-22

A bit too much coincidence

I do like the Underhay series, but I thought this storyline really pushed the envelope of believable coincidence in finding a way to put and keep Kitty in danger. I realize it is now a theme, but really, it must be marginally believable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca mosseri
  • Rebecca mosseri
  • 26-10-22

still a wonderful series.

good story. I love the characters and how well they are written. One can feel right at home at the Dolphin hotel as they all come alive. The only issue I have with this series is the narration. Karen Cass is a very dry and mechanical reader lacking appropriate emotion for the events unfolding. She also has the most absurd upward lilt to her voice which conveys boredom to the American ear. However, it is no deathnell to enjoyment of the book. I recommend this series highly.