Listen free for 30 days

  • Murder in the Belltower

  • A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 5
  • By: Helena Dixon
  • Narrated by: Alex Tregear
  • Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (109 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An utterly gripping historical cozy mystery

Kitty Underhay’s hymn book is open...at murder. 

Winter, 1933. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a restorative break from sleuthing on a visit to her family at Enderley Hall. The only thing marring her peace - aside from the uncomfortable sensation she has of being watched - is the obvious history between her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant and another guest, the beautiful Juliet Vanderstafen. So, when the parish clerk is found dead on her front doorstep, Kitty leaps at the chance of distraction. 

The police are happy to conclude that Miss Plenderleith met her unfortunate end on a patch of ice, but Kitty isn’t convinced this was a case of bad weather and worse luck. And when the Reverend Crabtree fails to show for tea the next day, she heads to the church to speak to him. But she arrives to find the clergyman hanging from the bell rope, dead. 

With Matt seemingly wrapped up with his alluring Austrian, Kitty must solve the case on her own. But as she snoops into parish affairs, she makes some less-than-saintly discoveries. Just who has broken the sixth commandment? Meanwhile the killer is preparing a churchyard grave for Kitty, and she’ll have to use all her wits to avoid falling in....

An addictive, absorbing Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey, and Lee Strauss.  

©2021 Helena Dixon (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder in the Belltower

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another delight!

loved it. so well written...can really feel yourself there. clever plot. characters really believable. recommended

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murder in the Belltower

Another great story where Kitty Underhay, works out not just the murders but also what her Uncle and and Captain Bright are trying to hide. Read brilliantly again by Alex Tregear.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great stories

this is the second time of reading / listening to this series and just as good as the first read. I am really looking forward to the new book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best one yet!

This book is much less repetitive in the phrases it uses and has a much more matured feel. I look forward to the next installments!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beverly Karowsky
  • Beverly Karowsky
  • 22-09-21

Narrator is superb and story a delight

You do not need to be an anglophile or lover of mysteries before reading this book, because you will be afterwards. The story and dialect are great fun. But the narration outshines them both. The narrator is a master of dialect, accent and dramatic inflection.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mimix8
  • Mimix8
  • 20-02-21

skip this book in the series!

this was some of the worst narration i have ever heard. story was forced and not believable. do yourself a favor and find something else!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nettie
  • Nettie
  • 22-09-21

Loved It On to the Next

I’m trying to pace myself so that I can be read up before the latest Kitty Underhay mystery is released. Love this series!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for booklady162
  • booklady162
  • 28-07-21

Enjoyed it very much!

Before listening I read two bad reviews, but took a chance anyway. I’m glad I did. I have no idea what those negative reviewers meant by wishing they had their money back. I thoroughly enjoyed the tale.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 15-03-21

if I could get a refund...

was hoping the brat heroine would grow up by now. why would some person think she is as entitled because a few murders happened, she is part of, now she is secret services material. she doesn't know much about love. Matt is the interesting one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Collective Scribbler
  • Collective Scribbler
  • 20-08-21

Christmas mysteries

So the tale continues at Christmas, back at Enderley Hall. So much mystery surrounds the guests that Kitty feels a bit jealous when Matt’s attentions are elsewhere. A very interesting read, but not as full of excitement as the rest of the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RainyDayBooks
  • RainyDayBooks
  • 06-09-22

Don’t read this if grammatical mistakes make you crazy

Ms. Dixon is a good storyteller, but like many cozy mystery books these days her grammar leaves something to be desired. No member of any aristocracy would make such glaring errors. It really takes you out of the story. Asking a writer to understand the rules of the language they are writing in seems the lowest possible bar.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nevjohn
  • Nevjohn
  • 21-07-22

Great story!

I LOVE these books! I enjoy the double mysteries. They are super well written, and the narrator does a fantastic job. I am totally addicted!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. Murphy
  • R. Murphy
  • 20-06-22

This series keeps getting better

This series got me with the first book. Just what I was looking for in a series. The story lines are well done and the narrator is excellent.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ED
  • ED
  • 31-10-21

Why must every single American character be portrayed as some kind of bafoon?

It’s like we are all either cowboys and cowgirls, gangsters and harlequins, or one of the ubiquitous choir boy types: “golly, swell, the bee’s knees, etc…”.

SMH