Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £20.79

Buy Now for £20.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When the danger is already inside, nowhere is safe… Highton prison sits nestled within the moors of western Cumbria, close to the coastal road. When two former inmates turn up dead, DI Kelly Porter is tasked with finding out why. It soon becomes obvious that she is hunting for one killer and the place where both victims were incarcerated holds the key. As Kelly delves into life at Highton she finds more questions than answers. A web of corruption and deceit emerges within the prison walls. As Kelly gets closer to unpicking the relationships between the officers and their wards, a full scale prison riot explodes - with police caught in the middle. Kelly now faces a hostage situation with a well-loved member of her team caught in the middle. An unforgettable addition to the DI Kelly Porter series from one of British crime fiction's rising stars. A must-read for fans of Carol Wyer, L. J. Ross and Angela Marsons. Readers are loving Lying Ways 'Once again Rachel Lynch has written a book where you keep turning the pages to find out what happens next. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it as a must read.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'This book has it all, murder, violence, prison life and military involvement. I read it in one sitting.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'I have enjoyed all the Kelly Porter novels to date and this one did not disappoint. Fast paced storyline and great team dynamics make for a great read. ' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

©2021 Rachel Lynch (P)2021 Rachel Lynch

More from the same

What listeners say about Lying Ways

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

not as good as previous in series

I have loved all the other books in this series and this one was ok but let down by the narration. Several mistakes which weren't erased but left in ,with the sentence just started again. Also lots of mispronunciations, terrible Dorset and Irish accents and most annoying in the second half of the book : " he said ," she said", 'they said" all snapped out in the same way every time with no expression.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Great

Nowhere near as good as the other books in this series unfortunately. I hope the next one is better

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Least favourite of series

I've enjoyed all the books in this series except this one. It took a long time to get going and once it did it then became rushed

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dodgy accents!

I love this series and this did not disappoint but the irritating accent for Dan did not even remotely resemble Scottish and was downright cringey, there were also several mispronounced words which spoiled the listen for me

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

Rachel Lynch's books always keep me hooked until its finished, so usually 2 days and it's done.
They are gripping and well read.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just awful

I love the Kelly Porter series, however this story was a non starter and the behaviour of the character “Johnny” unlikely.
Regarding the narration, the recording could be heard to stop and start on many occasions and in addition, many words have been mispronounced. Very disappointing!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the book but...

Enjoyed the book until the end as felt a bit deflated by ending . Left me feeling same as Line of Duty ending last year . Just sort of fizzled out .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MB
  • MB
  • 14-04-22

Kelly Porter has changed

Somehow, I found Kelly very offensive and self-centered right from the first chapter- her self important attitude to exclusion of everyone else really made made this book unsatisfying. It also made the investigation very unprofessional. I hope this isn’t what the future of this series is like . This may be the last I’ll listen to. To bad!