Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The only one who can find your daughter? The woman you just divorced.

Mark Campbell is in trouble. Deep trouble. 

His latest book is five years late and his recent divorce has cleaned him out. Worse, his debts with Vic Hebden aren’t exactly the kind you consolidate loans into one easy payment. And he’s already missed three. 

But Mark has a plan—finish his novel, then pay Hebden off with the advance. His student daughter, Kay, is spending her summer holiday to research locations in the far north of Scotland, ahead of a father-daughter holiday. 

Desperate to add her research to his book, their hotel calls—Kay has run off, leaving a big bill, her phone, and a copy of Mark’s last book, Break the Chain

There's only one person to turn to—his ex, Olivia. Kay’s stepmother. A Glasgow cop still angry at their recent divorce.  

As they hunt the Scottish Highlands for his daughter, Mark starts to realize Kay’s disappearance could have something to do with Break the Chain, the book where he exposed the founder’s sexual abuse, similar to the religious cult he grew up in. 

Could Kay have succumbed to the clutches of someone from the cult? Or does Hebden have her? And can Mark and Olivia save her in time? 

Lost Cause is a stand-alone psychological thriller from the best-selling author of the Cullen, Fenchurch and Dodds series, perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Linwood Barclay, and Harlan Coben.

©2022 Ed James (P)2022 Grey Dog Audio

Critic reviews

"A storming novel, so packed full of tension that I read it in a day." (Mark Edwards, best-selling author of The Magpies, Follow You Home, and The Hollows)

What listeners say about Lost Cause

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Yet again a great great storyline from Ed James!!! Can’t stop listening once I start, and the narration from Angus King is fabby!! Can’t wait for next book 😄😃

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

pure dead brilliant

I can't decide if I love or hate the lead character as he blusters and stumbles forward, but I would love to read more about him.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad at all

Started off really great couldn't stop listening, however, towards the end, it did get a little far fetched.