Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Last Train to London cover art

Last Train to London

By: Matthew Costello,Neil Richards
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £3.59

Buy Now for £3.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Cherringham is devastated. Otto Brendl, the likeable old man who had hosted the classic Punch-and-Judy show for the kids each summer, died suddenly of a heart attack. But while the memorial service is being planned, Jack becomes suspicious that Otto wasn't just the friendly man next door. Maybe there's more behind the heart attack? Soon Jack and Sarah are on the trail of a particularly sinister murderer - and together they will find that there's not only one kind of justice.

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby.

Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of "DCI John Barnaby" in "Midsomer Murders" and "Jim Riley" in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as "Norman Birkett" on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2017 Bastei Lübbe (Lübbe Audio) (P)2017 Bastei Lübbe

What listeners say about Last Train to London

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

First rate as usuall, when are we going to get another series of stories to délight us, can't wait 👍

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

wrong book

I had already read this story. My mistake instead of book collection 13-15 I somehow ended up with book 5! Very disappointed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 26-03-22

Good read!

lies, secrets, identity, short, friendship, Cotswolds, small-business, small-town, investigation, investigators, justice, theft*****

This one is different, but riveting, nonetheless and goes a long way to proving that things are not always what they seem. The ongoing sleuthing involves a retired and widowed older NYPD homicide cop who is finding life in the English countryside a fair antidote to his mourning, and a local recently divorced woman who has returned to her hometown with her children. They make a good sleuthing pair.
Voice actor Neil Dudgeon has been an asset to my listening pleasure while I do mindless things.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ZL
  • ZL
  • 21-08-20

Awesome once again!

Can’t get enough of the duo. Neil Dudgeon is the best audio book reader ever. Feels like I go on vacation with every book I read:)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for peggy ann
  • peggy ann
  • 23-06-20

great, as usual

This was a particularly good listen. Intriguing story. Well read. As always, Neil Dudgeon is excellent as a reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-01-20

Better, much better.

It's great to see progress in all aspects of this story. Much better narrative too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eddie Lynn
  • Eddie Lynn
  • 28-12-19

Puppeteer Dead, kids distraught, who dun it?

Ah, Cherringham, the murder capital of the Cotswolds, has lost its' puppeteer to murder. Why him? He's reclusive, secretive and keeps his puppets under lock and key. Now he's dead. Bring in the hometown investigating team and unlock this quick listen of another crime in Cherringham.
Neil Dudgeon did a great job at narrating this story.

I like the Cotswolds, but next time I'm there, I will watch my back.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea
  • Andrea
  • 16-07-19

great story

I was hook at the 1st book of the series. When book 5 was over I didn't want it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra Epperson
  • Sandra Epperson
  • 20-04-19

Great series

This wonderful series, which is being released in 2 to 2 1/2 hour sections, is simply delightful.