Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Katy Carr is a lively, daredevil oldest sister in a big family. She loves messing around outdoors, climbing on the garage roof or up a tree, cycling, skateboarding, swinging.... But her life changes in dramatic and unexpected ways after a serious accident.

Inspired by the classic novel What Katy Did, Jacqueline Wilson creates an irresistible 21st-century heroine. Fans of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker will fall in love with Katy and her family too.

©2015 Jacqueline Wilson (P)2015 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

What listeners say about Katy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    380
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    281
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    301
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E
  • 28-07-16

Love it

I loved this book no dislikes at all espicallly as I am the 11 like Katy in the book

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Katy

I enjoyed how it describes how the characters feel.
I think it is made for 9 to 12 years of age.
It is my favourite book ever!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Educational whilst highly entertaining

I think this was a great book for my children to listen to in order to give them an insight into people with physical disabilities and what they go through. Liked by both my 10 year old son and 7 year old daughter. Very entertaining. Well narrated. Believable and heartwarming.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A ride with Katie is full of adventure.

I rate this book 5 stars because I thoroughly enjoyed the story line the plot remained interesting and the characters were very well researched.g I also like the sensitivity with which Jacqueline Wilson addressed many issues Katie and her family faced. You get to see how fragile the fabric that keeps a family together can be. Certain circumstances could break the family bond, and other circumstances could make them grow stronger. It's warm, it's funny, and its full of moments that will make you cry but also moments that will make your heart burst with pride for Katie. I will recommend this to any child over the age of nine because there is a lot to learn from reading this fantastic story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

#AMAZING!

I've listend it 4 times already I mean it's amazing never heard a voice so fluent she just made me want listen over and over again.Everything is so a good about it.Jacqueline Wilson I thank you so much it's such a more child-friendly.
10/10 :-)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing wish there was I second by Jacqueline

I loved this I couldn't stop listening till they end.
you need to get this book

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing story and read with great emphasis

the narrator was great and i couldnt stop listening to this i finished it in just 3 days!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Amazing

I loved it
Great
Listened to it like 10 times
I would recommend it to kids aged 9-13
Love the end
Katy is very adventures

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Sophie

I really enjoyed this audiobook,
becaus it's about a tomboy called Katy but it's so sad to.
This is my BEST book,
I'm dyslexic so I really enjoy audio books,
I rate they book 5 star,
And her personalitie and stuff is like mine.


1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Amazing and enjoyable!

I love this book! it is fun and exciting. Definately one of my favourites! 📓📚

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bradley Shaw
  • Bradley Shaw
  • 18-03-22

Sensational

What an incredible book! Most sensitive story telling. Enjoyable for all ages. Jacqueline Wilson is an absolute master. Her portrayal of the indomitable Katy is deep and thoughtful and the story is a fabulous romp. One of my all time favourites and a serious hit with my 6 year old.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lina D.
  • Lina D.
  • 01-07-19

This is the best storry I ever heard.

I loved it.
It is so amazing I hope you get along with selling your books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cyndyloowhoo
  • cyndyloowhoo
  • 14-06-18

excellent

very good. strong believable story-line. no spoiler -- but, there are some unexpected plot twists. excellent character development. good read for teens and adults alike.