Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Her Closest Friend: An absolutely gripping and heart-pounding psychological thriller

  • By: Clare Boyd
  • Narrated by: Jane McDowell
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (188 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Her Closest Friend: An absolutely gripping and heart-pounding psychological thriller cover art

Her Closest Friend: An absolutely gripping and heart-pounding psychological thriller

By: Clare Boyd
Narrated by: Jane McDowell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Little Liar cover art
Three Secrets cover art
The Pretty One cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Woman in My Home cover art
After the Lie cover art
Liar cover art
Her First Child cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
The New Couple cover art
The Lie cover art
The Accident cover art
The Good Sister cover art
Run on Red cover art
The Woman Next Door cover art

Summary

Pop music blares from the radio. She sings drunkenly from the backseat. The thrash of windscreen wipers against the driving rain. The screech of tires. A thud.

Naomi and I are best friends.

School runs, dog walks, a shoulder to cry on over a glass of wine - we’re inseparable.

But now my husband has walked out, I need her more than ever.

I know she will help me pick up the pieces.

Because she knows about the lie I told to protect her.

She knows how much I’ve sacrificed for this friendship. 

And she’d never let anyone hurt me.

Would she?

This extraordinary novel will suck you in from the very first moment and keep you gripped until the breathtaking finale. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will adore this twisted tale of toxic female friendship.

What readers are saying about Clare Boyd:

"OMG this book was amazing... I literally couldn't put it down in had to keep reading to see what was going to happen next...well deserving of 5 stars." (Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars)

"Absolutely LOVED...the best-of-the-best of psychological thriller authors!...a very fast paced read...twists like a rollercoaster out of control!...the climax was crazy awesome! If you enjoy a plot twist that jumps out at you...yep, this is the book for you." (Two Girls and a Book Obsession, 5 stars)

©2019 Clare Boyd (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Her Closest Friend: An absolutely gripping and heart-pounding psychological thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great listening

loved it. twists and turns . Great finish . justice for all brill storytelling


Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this book is great , speaker good but congested.

the book keeps you pinned... every minute you find your self round another corner wondering how they will get out of this one!
the reader is great but has a strange nasal blockage for certain sounds- it's mild but once you hear it- you can't stop hearing it so I'm really surprised this is the final recording. there's also a strange very quiet squeeking sound starting in chapter 18... not sure if it's part of the same thing or a digital thing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really brilliant

I really did enjoy the book it was brilliant i felt so engrossed i forgot time

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book,

Listened to this book at every possible moment I could, wanted to keep listening but didn't want it to end!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very slow but good

This was slow to start with, but once it got going very good and shocking

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

A true page turner, ending in a way I never suspected, very good narrator, recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gasp out loud stuff!

Brilliant book. I held my breath so many times in this book. Just when you think it's coming to an end, it twists and turns. Absolutely loved it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

On and on and on

On my goodness, could have been half the length!
Didn’t know there was so many ways of saying nothing

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Frustrating in places

Whilst the premise of the book was good. No one would have put up with Sophie's behaviour! She was as mad as a box of frogs.
Then just when you think Naomi has finally found some guts.. The ending completely ruined it;very weak. A good listen but totally unbelievable and frustrating in places.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but not brilliant.

This was quite good and kept my interest but wasn't outstanding. The 2 main characters Naomi and Sophie were not a bit likeable, and I didn't care what happened to either of them. The narrator kept the same voice for every character so sometimes you didn't know who was talking. The book would've been so much better to listen to if there had been 2 narrators - one for Naomi and one for Sophie. The ending was a bit shocking but I still couldn't feel any empathy for any of them.
It's worth a listen, but not mind blowing!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful