Listen free for 30 days

  • Hanging House

  • An Emmie Rose Haunted Mystery, Book 1
  • By: Dean Rasmussen
  • Narrated by: Kasi Hollowell
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An unsolved murder. A reluctant psychic. Hanging House never sleeps, and neither will you.

Emmie just wants to get as far away from her psychic past as possible. Who can blame her? Seeing dead children isn’t a “gift". It's heartbreaking terror. 

But once she loses her job in the big city, there’s only one place for her to go: back into the heart of her trauma and fears. Her childhood home. 

Hanging House. 

Determined to make the best of her new life, she soon realizes she can’t outrun the ghosts of her past. 

She needs to face and conquer the looming darkness, or she won’t get out alive. 

Hanging House is the first novel in a new paranormal mystery series that delivers an unsolved murder, ghostly mysteries, and a twist of horror. 

Fans of Wendy Wang, Darcy Coates, Abe Moss, Cheryl Bradshaw, or Heather Graham will love this exciting new supernatural suspense book. 

Download your copy now to start your next chilling adventure.

©2021 Dean Rasmussen (P)2022 Dean Rasmussen

What listeners say about Hanging House

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully told.

I bought this on a whim after it was suggested and I'm so glad I did. this is definitely up there with the likes of Darcy coates and Webber.
I'm straight onto the second book now

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh Believe

I loved the narration of Kasi Hollowell, she bought out the characters and made the ghost appear.

Emmie has been seen ghosts of dead children, since she has been a child. When her family moved into a house Emmie was continually harassed by one dead girl seen hanging from a tree on the property. When her friend Frankie died , she was left broken and bruised. When able she moved away. Fate brings back to her old home and the hanging girl. Still able to see ghosts, All asking for help.
With a help of a old school friend and a ghost haunter , Emmie's gift helps solve a murder mystery.


2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bug eyes!

This is my first book written by this author, so it was a leap of faith and I was so glad I did.
The story was good and very well written, though not the scariest I had read, it was up there with the best of them, ghostly murdered children lingering around the MC made me wanting more of this series.
the author and narrator worked well to bring this ghostly tale alive.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not bedtime reading!

This is a really enjoyable listen, It is well written and edge of the seat stuff from start to finish. The characters are well defined and likeable, I particularly liked the cheeky little boy! Unlike the previous reviewer I was on edge all the way through, Hanging House would have had me running a mile! The book is highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a good ghost story with a murder mystery built in. I look forward to listening to more of Deans books. The narrator was outstanding I thought, she really brought the story to life. Well worth it's 5 stars!*****
I was given a promo copy of the book by the author and voluntarily leave this honest review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good

Although not scary this is a good ghost story with good characters which hopefully becomes more fleshed out as the series continues.
I received this audiobook from Free Audiobook Codes for a review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful haunted mystery

I listened to this book all in one day, it really captured my attention and drew me in. I can't wait to see where Emmie goes next in her haunted adventures.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping Story and Captivating Writing

This was one of the easiest listens I've found in a long time! a truly well written captivating story that had me hooked from the very start. the author has a talent for keeping the reader/listener entranced throughout the story! I will say that in regret not stumbling across the book version first as I've been trying to find a paperback to captivate me to rediscover my love for reading and I honestly think this would have been the perfect book to reignite that love! I would highly recommend this and I'm currently downloading book 2!😍

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marilen Martinez
  • Marilen Martinez
  • 20-09-22

WOW!

WOW! What a great, scary and “realistic” ghost story. Great characters and excellent narrator. Already bought the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-08-22

Amazing!

I could not stop listening and can hardly wait to begin the next one! The author weaves a story that touches on so many theories and questions about life after death and the paranormal! I loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Currie
  • Karen Currie
  • 03-08-22

Good

I just liked it ! Narrator was good and the story itself was good! I enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stefanie
  • Stefanie
  • 26-07-22

Great Book

Overall it's an excellent addition to anyone's library. Good read !!! I really enjoyed reading this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 25-06-22

i loved it ♡

cute ghost story. I really enjoyed it, i liked the atmosphere and i’ll be listening to it on repeat to help me sleep

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mimi4x
  • mimi4x
  • 21-06-22

So good!

I really liked this book. I love a good ghost story, and this definitely qualifies! Would love to read another book from this author. Narrator did a very good job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gigi
  • Gigi
  • 01-06-22

Fantastic Paranormal Mystery!

After losing her job, Emmie’s only choice is to go back to her long abandoned childhood home, spruce it up and get it on the market pronto! One tiny problem, her childhood home is Hanging House, aptly named for a very good, horrifying reason. I have to say that I LOVED this story. Part mystery, part thriller, part horror story and throughly enjoyable in every way! The characters are fantastic, unique, and well developed. They have a sense of reality about them that makes them endearing, some a bit quirky, some a bit uppity, some a bit awful, just like some people I’m sure we ALL know and love. The plot was very well thought out, very clear, easy to follow with a few twists (no spoilers) that I for one did not see coming. I always like to be surprised and this story accomplished that, especially in the ending and wrap up, again no spoilers! What I can say is there were awe’s and tears involved! Now the narration, that was something special. The characters were extremely well voiced, with a full and appropriate range of emotion displayed. The pacing was good and the flow was smooth. I have to say that overall, this one checked all my boxes! Five stars across the board!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Patterson
  • Susan Patterson
  • 23-05-22

Tense!

Paranormal at its best.

Kasi Hollowell did a great job narrating and bringing the characters to life.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Maher
  • Lisa Maher
  • 17-05-22

Loved it.

This is a new to me author and I rather enjoyed this book. I have always been interested in the paranormal and love that aspect of this book. This is one of my favorite narrators and I love how she brought the book to life. I am looking forward to listening to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmberK5
  • AmberK5
  • 10-04-22

Fantastic read!!

Great haunted mystery that gave me chills and kept me guessing. Lots of twists and that ending - did not see that coming!!
The audio narration is well done & enjoyable!
Looking forward to more from this author!