Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Midnight Man cover art

The Midnight Man

By: Caroline Mitchell
Narrated by: Emma Gregory,Elliot Fitzpatrick
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Truth and Lies cover art
Time to Die cover art
The Village cover art
Witness cover art
Sleep Tight cover art
First Blood cover art
The Creeper cover art
When You Find Me cover art
The Murderer's Son cover art
My Other Husband cover art
The Life We Bury cover art
Halloween cover art
Sleep Tight cover art
Before She Knew Him cover art
The Missing Ones cover art
The Next Girl: Detective Gina Harte, Book 1 cover art

Summary

Audie Awards 2022 Finalist in the Mystery Category

A thrilling new series from the number one best seller Caroline Mitchell.

I remember the day I died quite clearly.

Blackhall Manor has witnessed many dark crimes, long before five teenage girls break in to play the Midnight Game. It was supposed to be a game, but only four girls come home.

Detective Sarah Noble has just returned to the force, and no one knows more about Blackhall Manor than her. Except perhaps Elliott Carter, who is only seven but has seen things in his dreams most adults could never imagine.

It's a case that will bring them together and shake Sarah to her core. Will she be ready to meet the Midnight Man?

A gripping and twisty thriller, perfect for fans of C. J. Tudor, Cara Hunter and Alex Nort.

©2021 Caroline Mitchell (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Midnight Man

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Halloween Listen

I do love a spooky story and this is a brilliant one. Picture the scene - it's Halloween in a town called Slayton and 5 teenage girls go to a spooky old house where a father murdered his own family, and play a game where they invite The Midnight Man in. What could possibly go wrong!! Well, only 4 girls return home!

This is the perfect book to listen to on Audible. The production is first class and the sound effects at the beginning are so creepy that the hairs on the back of my neck were standing up even before the narration began! The book hooked me in right from the start and I was so engrossed I forgot to make dinner until my OH gave me a nudge! It is a cracking thriller which is paced just right and is full of twists and turns. I had several theories about who the Midnight Man was, but every one of them was wrong! The protagonist, DC Sarah Noble had an amazing backstory and as this is Book 1 of the Slayton series I hope we see more of her in future books..

The two narrators were superb. Emma Gregory, whb narrated most of the book was amazing and managed all the different voices with ease, and Elliott Fitzpatrick was deliciously creepy! A perfect audiobook :-)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Woah 🤯 this book makes you think you know exactly where it’s heading, but no!

🕯 BOOK TOUR REVIEW 🕯

The Midnight Man by Caroline Mitchell

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5⭐️s

Thank you to Embla Books for my gifted e-copy of the book via Netgalley and for having me along in the tour.

𝕀𝕗 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕠𝕡𝕖𝕟 𝕪𝕠𝕦𝕣 𝕕𝕠𝕠𝕣 𝕥𝕠 𝕥𝕙𝕖 𝕄𝕚𝕕𝕟𝕚𝕘𝕙𝕥 𝕄𝕒𝕟
ℍ𝕚𝕕𝕖 𝕨𝕚𝕥𝕙 𝕒 𝕔𝕒𝕟𝕕𝕝𝕖 𝕨𝕙𝕖𝕣𝕖𝕧𝕖𝕣 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕔𝕒𝕟
𝕋𝕣𝕪 𝕟𝕠𝕥 𝕥𝕠 𝕤𝕔𝕣𝕖𝕒𝕞 𝕒𝕤 𝕙𝕖 𝕕𝕣𝕒𝕨𝕤 𝕟𝕖𝕒𝕣
𝔹𝕖𝕔𝕒𝕦𝕤𝕖 𝕠𝕟𝕖 𝕠𝕗 𝕪𝕠𝕦 𝕨𝕠𝕟'𝕥 𝕓𝕖 𝕝𝕖𝕒𝕧𝕚𝕟𝕘 𝕙𝕖𝕣𝕖...

Woah 🤯 this book makes you think you know exactly where it’s heading, but no!

The opening of The Midnight Man is one of the most Fantastic I’ve read.

The eerieness of Blackhall Manor lifts right off the pages and weaves around you. As does the claustrophobic town of Slayton. Everyone knows everyone.

But the people of Slayton don’t seem to know who Sarah Nobel is, beyond her most recent shame.

I loved the alternating perspectives of Sarah, Elsie, Elliot, and others. Small pieces of the puzzle are shared but trust me, you will definitely miss pieces that are essential.

The suspense and atmosphere is kept at the forefront of the story and gives the slow creeping feeling of something coming.

This book is definitely one you want to read this spooky season. I do t want to spoil the plot of this book but each chapter pulled me into the next.

#BookReview #BookTour #ReadAndReview #TheMidnightMan #EmblaBooks #SpookyReads #OctoberReads

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Brilliant

i just loved everything about this book. good storyline, likeable characters and excellent narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly spooky

I downloaded this book on the off chance that it might be good I ended up loving every minute of the book great characters and loved the narrator she made you feel every word of the story. Going to try another from this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

All very silly

Hammy production of a very flimsy mystery. It’s such a shame when a promising start deteriorates and becomes both boring and increasingly silly.
Lots of angst, and meandering cul de sacs, before an eye-rolling showdown.
Sadly it doesn’t have the decency to stop there as it rambles on for several more pointless chapters. Less is more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly creepy

If you haven't read this, you're missing out. I devoured this one so fast but wish I'd slower down to savour it. Suspenseful and tense and creepy, it had me on edge and thinking about it just before I fell asleep. Excellent!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Absolutely loved this book. Likeable characters and easy listening and gripping. Would recommend and I’m now looking for more books from the author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book

I have been looking forward to listening to this book since it’s recent release. I was not disappointed. The plot is suitably dark as you would expect from the book description and is always going at a good pace.
I will not spoil the story but I did not work out the “Midnight Man” although all the clues were there.
What also makes this book stand out is the narration. A lot of effort went into producing it and it is so worth while. Well done.
I enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Entertaining but...

It was a lovely listen and had some scary moments and who dunnit twists but ultimately it was a bit of a let down the knitting together the who's and why's at the end. It lacked a bit of imagination but it holds you throughout. Ideal if you like to read as little gore as possible and not too dark to be disturbing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

i enjoyed most of it

Good book, i found some bits not as good, on the whole it was very engaging

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful