Listen free for 30 days

  • Fast Friends

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Esther Wane
  • Length: 16 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (170 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Fast Friends cover art

Fast Friends

By: Jill Mansell
Narrated by: Esther Wane
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Fast Friends is a warm and funny romantic novel from Sunday Times best-selling author Jill Mansell.

For fans of Lucy Diamond, Cathy Kelly and Marian Keyes.

When the chips are down, who better to turn to than your oldest friends?

When bored housewife and mother Camilla Stewart impulsively invites her old school chums for dinner, she hardly imagines that the evening will shatter her comfortable existence. But Roz Vallender and Loulou Marks are no ordinary guests.

Roz, stunning and self-assured, is notorious as a TV presenter and superbitch whilst the reckless Loulou owns Vampires, the trendiest wine bar in town. Horrified to discover that husband Jack has been playing around, Camilla determines to make some changes. With a little help from her friends, she soon finds out that life in the fast lane is a lot more fun, and the future still holds plenty of surprises.

©2002 Jill Mansell (P)2016 Headline Digital
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about Fast Friends

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Very Racist, not appropriate to be published

I downloaded this book for light relief, a lighthearted story to relax. However I was shocked and disappointed at the repeatedly racist content of this book. The frequent references to the 'Black' boy... and the black character Joshua is not integrated into the narrative at all. The ethnic characters are 2D, with no depth, they are only included to be represented as 'other' and includes shocking stereotypes of being aggressive, bullying, money grabbing ... there is no sense of social commentary or any real context of informed character driven writing. The twist at the end is not enough to redeem this racist story telling, the use if terms such as 'dusky' are seriously inappropriate. It should be considered if this book is fit for distribution.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

The narrator was great really enjoyed listening to her and the different accents she did was great

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Quite predictable with a few twists

and they all lived happily ever after weight just drops off no one worries about money booze jobs!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Accents are terrible!!

Quite a good read - easy listening but the accents are TERRIBLE especially the Scottish ones!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great !!!

Good storyline with lots of twists, loved i, can’t wait to listen to another one!!!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Oh dear… one to miss.

Until this one I’d enjoyed many of Jill Mansell’s books but certainly not this one. So many times I wanted to give up but having already invested many hours reading it I forced myself to finish it. I wish I hadn’t.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Beyond awful

I wouldn’t know where to start with how awful this book is..absolutely BORING storyline and narrative, monotonous narration and about as enthralling as a shopping list. GIVE IT A MISS

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not her best

Honestly this book just went on forever, the outcome was predictable and the narrator had one “accent” she used for everyone - not Jill’s best & definitely not made better by the narration

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dreary and awful accents

Couldn't wait to get to the end. Not one of the author's finest. Tedious at best.

The accents were like nails on a chalk board.

Shame as am usually a big fan of Ms Mansell's books

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story but stressful!

I really enjoyed this book but I did find the story very stressful at times....how can one person go through so much?! Really good though and kept me listening.