Listen free for 30 days

  • Elizabeth & Margaret

  • The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters
  • By: Andrew Morton
  • Narrated by: Marisa Calin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Elizabeth & Margaret cover art

Elizabeth & Margaret

By: Andrew Morton
Narrated by: Marisa Calin
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Real Diana cover art
The Final Curtsey cover art
Elizabeth cover art
Charles and Camilla cover art
Somewhere in Time cover art
Son of Avonar cover art
Philip cover art
While You Were Mine cover art
Faith & Fire cover art
The Black Echo: Harry Bosch Series, Book 1 cover art
Three Times a Countess cover art
The Queen and Prince Philip cover art
Before Wallis cover art
George and Marina cover art
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall cover art
Prince Philip's Century cover art

Summary

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times best-selling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called "Lillibet". And bow to her wishes. 

Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system - and her fraught relationship with its expectations - was often a source of tension. Famously, the queen had to inform Margaret that the church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover. 

From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters - one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it - and the lasting impact they have had on the crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.  

©2021 Andrew Morton (P)2021 Hachette Audio

Critic reviews

“Deliciously detailed, sometimes gossipy, often moving, this in-depth examination of royal siblings is sure to be in demand.” (Booklist)

"Thoroughly researched and well written, the most comprehensive  account of the complex relationship between the Queen and Princess Margaret to date. Fascinating and enjoyable." (Sarah Bradford, New York Times best-selling author of Elizabeth

"The dynamic between the two royal sisters is endlessly fascinating when presented by Andrew Morton. Informative, insightful, and never a dull page. Morton at his forensic best." (Ingrid Seward, author of Prince Philip Revealed and My Husband and I, editor in chief of Majesty magazine)

What listeners say about Elizabeth & Margaret

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Princess Margaret

A good book but less on Townsend and more on the rest of her life would have been preferential.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dr
  • 22-05-21

Interesting story, beautifully read

The book covers a long time span and presents a good deal of information that has not been public knowledge, much of it clearing up negative misunderstandings about Margaret. It is occasionally a little repetitive.
The reading is beautiful: clear, expressive and easy to listen to. When direct quotations of Elizabeth and Margaret are used, an approximation to their voices and pronunciation is given which gives an accurate impression without mimicry or caricature.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book

loved this book, it had everything and I got to learn of the past of the 2 sisters

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Awful performance

Narrator adopts an odd breathless diction that really detracts from the enjoyment and meaning. Not sure why she did that. Should have been read in a straight voice. Her performance makes this a rather strained listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!