Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The first in an exciting new Scottish crime thriller series. Perfect for fans of L J Ross, Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves. 

Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell has returned to his roots in Dumfries, only to be landed with a disturbing murder case. Even worse, Farrell knows the victim: Father Boyd, the man who forced him out of the priesthood 18 years earlier.

With no leads, Farrell must delve into the old priest’s past, one that is inexorably linked with his own. But his attention is diverted when a pair of twin boys go missing. The Dumfries police force recover one in an abandoned church, unharmed. But where is his brother?

As Farrell investigates the two cases, he can’t help but feel targeted. Is someone playing a sinister game, or is he seeing patterns that don’t exist? Either way, it’s a game Farrell needs to win before he loses his grip on his sanity, or someone else turns up dead.

©2022 Jackie Baldwin (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Gripping...a compelling and authentic page-turner." (Sunday Mail

What listeners say about Dead Man’s Prayer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good detective story.

This author is new to me. I really enjoyed this book. Very different and well written good story line which kept me listening. David Monteath is a fantastic narrator and brings the book to life. I would recommend this book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Is this a spoof police procedural? I think it must be!

So, the senior investigating officer is a priest (or was a priest) and he has an evil twin. Oh and he takes lithium to ward off hallucinations or something. Apart from that, it’s the usual story of the irresistible DI who can’t quite follow procedures but is damned good all the same. Now can this be serious? How can this be episode one of a series? What might happen in the next in the series. Perhaps it turns out the he has another identical sibling or two more? Perhaps he’ll be elevated to a bishopric. I can hardly wait.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

Gripping from the outset, twists, turns and a few "ooh, I didn't see that coming". A sprinkling of well placed humour and laugh out loud moments. I was absolutely hooked, and now going on to the next in series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful, boring & I couldn't finish it.

I love the narrator and I love scottish crime series which is why I thought I would try this. This book bored me to tears and by chapter 17 I could take no more. The whole thing felt rushed, no depth to the story & the characters are boring and unbelievable.

If you are used to the standard that J D Kirk has set, then avoid this book as you'll be disappointed.