Listen free for 30 days

  • Balance of Power

  • A DCI Pilgrim Thriller, Book 6
  • By: A. L. Fraine
  • Narrated by: Duncan Galloway
  • Length: 5 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Balance of Power cover art

Balance of Power

By: A. L. Fraine
Narrated by: Duncan Galloway
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A mutilated body, an escaped prisoner, and suspects everywhere.

When the body of a badly mutilated woman is discovered, Detective Jon Pilgrim realizes they’re hunting a disturbed new killer, with a particular hatred for women.
But the victims personal life is full of twists and turns, leading to several potential suspects, and few answers.

Elsewhere, Nathan is working with new team member Ellie investigating the murder of a rich but reclusive man. All signs point to an escaped convict who has a history with Nathan and Kate.

Delving into the two horrific cases, secrets are uncovered and danger lurks around every corner. A vicious killer and a man bent on revenge stalk the streets, but could they be linked?

Jon’s team must find answers and crack the case before more people are senselessly killed.

Balance of Power is a pulse-pounding new thriller from author A L Fraine. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, JM Dalgliesh, and Ian Rankin.

©2019, 2022 Andrew Dobell (P)2022 Andrew Dobell

What listeners say about Balance of Power

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surely not the end...

I’ve enjoyed the previous 5 books in this series and really looked forward to this one. My only worry was that I’d heard somewhere that it was to be the last in the series (I do hope that’s not the case) so how would it end? Would they all go out with a bang and no chance to return? No spoilers from me.

Anyway, the team have 2 different cases to solve so they have to split their forces but thankfully not for long. The story is gripping and kept me interested from start to finish, just as with the previous books. Love the new character, Ellie, who fits in well with the rest of the team. Excellent narration as always with well performed accents and each character having a unique voice.

I know all good things must come to an end and I’ve given up on some series that just seemed to drag on far too long but I’d honestly love to have more Pilgrim books to read in future.

That said though, I can’t wait for the new upcoming Loxley series to be available in audiobook format to add to my collection.


I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this unbiased review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

"Sorry for your loss."

Balance of Power is the sixth in an English police procedural series and, given that this was the first one that I have read, I could have been disadvantaged by not knowing anything that had gone before. But this was certainly not the case with any background information necessary faultless slotted into the storyline. It was an easy read, clearly written and simple to follow but with a power which had This reader gripped from the opening pages. It felt real, plausible, and each character was well developed.
Further enhancing the book's enjoyment, was the excellent narration by Duncan Galloway whose pleasant English accented voice suited the text perfectly. He read with understanding, with no drifting glitches, good pace and timing, well modulated as his voicing of the several protagonists was appropriate and individual. A very fine performance.

I very much enjoyed this book. Even the location - mostly the county of Surrey - added to the pleasure as it was here that I grew up over sixty years ago so had a tiny which of nostalgia. My thanks to the rights holder of Balance of Power who, at my request, freely gifted me with a complimentary copy. This is a book I can definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys a well written police procedural peopled with realistic people. I am adding author A.L.Fraine's Pilgrim series to my list of future want to reads.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great addition to the series - believable

It was good to listen to another DCI Pilgrim police procedural and it worked well. The story was believable and the character development for existing stories worked.

Duncan Galloway's narration yet again suited the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 04-08-22

"Sorry for your loss."

Balance of Power is the sixth in an English police procedural series and, given that this was the first one that I have read, I could have been disadvantaged by not knowing anything that had gone before. But this was certainly not the case with any background information necessary faultless slotted into the storyline. It was an easy read, clearly written and simple to follow but with a power which had This reader gripped from the opening pages. It felt real, plausible, and each character was well developed.
Further enhancing the book's enjoyment, was the excellent narration by Duncan Galloway whose pleasant English accented voice suited the text perfectly. He read with understanding, with no drifting glitches, good pace and timing, well modulated as his voicing of the several protagonists was appropriate and individual. A very fine performance.

I very much enjoyed this book. Even the location - mostly the county of Surrey - added to the pleasure as it was here that I grew up over sixty years ago so had a tiny which of nostalgia. My thanks to the rights holder of Balance of Power who, at my request, freely gifted me with a complimentary copy. This is a book I can definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys a well written police procedural peopled with realistic people. I am adding author A.L.Fraine's Pilgrim series to my list of future want to reads

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rayc
  • Rayc
  • 28-10-22

Classic British Crime Thriller

If your a fan of British crime thrillers then this a novel for you.
Great storyline well written and superb narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pam Carroway
  • Pam Carroway
  • 16-08-22

Loved this series!

A. L. Fraine and Duncan Galloway are such an excellent team for this series, I'm sad that this is the final one. As with the first 5 books, I had a tough time putting this book down. The characters are believable in their roles both written and performed and when you find one to like, you will like them a lot. And, when they are not likable at all, well...just try not to hate them.
This killer is one that I had a tough time not cringing with each time he was brought up. Definitely a despicable human being.
Duncan Galloway does such a fantastic job of BEING each of these characters, I tend to forget that it is just one person performing each one. I would compare his work to a tv show that I am simply listening to while busy doing something else.
All in all, I love how each book stands alone, but also goes well with each other.
I highly recommend.