Listen free for 30 days

  • An Orphan’s War

  • By: Molly Green
  • Narrated by: Julie Masey
  • Length: 11 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (33 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
An Orphan’s War cover art

An Orphan’s War

By: Molly Green
Narrated by: Julie Masey
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool’s Dr Barnado’s Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan’s War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the home front.

Liverpool, 1940.

When her childhood sweetheart, Johnny, is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London’s St Thomas’ hospital.

A broken heart.

She takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake isn’t all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine faces more heartache. When she returns to Liverpool, she harbours a secret.

A brave spirit.

When Maxine is offered a job at a Dr Barnardo’s orphanage, she hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. Do the orphans know that she needs them as much as they need her?

A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

©2018 Molly Green (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love for a RAF pilot." (Kitty Neale)

"Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war." (Terri Fleming)

What listeners say about An Orphan’s War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Orphans War

Absolutely brilliant! Loved listening to this story while I was knitting. The narrator Julie Masey is one of the very best out there. She brings each and every character to life. Looking forward to a follow up of this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Rxcellent

I have listened to so many good books of late and this certainly rates among the best. Excellent, more please.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A beautiful story

A great story, well written and well read. I can't wait for the next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Verygood read

I
Very good read gripping story could not put it down very well wrighting pamie

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a very gentle and romantic story

Rambled a bit and went off course a touch from time to time but overall very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant , couldnt stop listening.

a lovely story. really enjoyed it, very emotional in parts, would reccomend it so heartwarming ,

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for customers coins
  • customers coins
  • 04-05-19

An Orphan's War by Molly Green

Excellent! Love a story that keeps you so wanting to listen to the end. This was one of those stories. Thank-you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Avid Reader
  • Avid Reader
  • 03-05-19

Leaves you hanging

The story was very good but so many parts of the story were left hanging. I find that very frustrating when you don’t know what happens or how it all comes together. Let’s hope there is a sequel. There are several characters I want to know about.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MerrilyW
  • MerrilyW
  • 05-10-18

easy listening

nor exactly startling brilliant writing but very easy to listen to with endearing characters. very well narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for WAYNE
  • WAYNE
  • 24-09-18

Good story, ending left me wanting

The ending felt incomplete. It should have been extended until the war’s end so the listener could have known if Maxine did get married and what happened to Peter. Otherwise it was a good listen with tragedy and horror of WWII in England.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alicia Routly
  • Alicia Routly
  • 22-12-22

An Orphans War Review

This book was just what I needed to hear. The audible had a lovely accent and the storyline was impossible to put down. Took me a few days to read it and it’s now a favorite of mine. It’s a 10 hour read with 38 chapters. I enjoyed the main characters strong willed and kept her emotions to herself til she found trustworthy friends to support her in any way a helping hand could go. The book brought me insight what the fancy Hotels were like during the War in London and how entertainment was like in Berlin during the War. I felt like I was really there as a shadow with the narrator. I recommend the book for newly weds, widows, adoptive parents to mothers who donated a child in hopes for a better lifestyle then their own. This Book bring light into a dark world and hope as the end unwinds.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian Lee
  • Brian Lee
  • 22-11-20

best book ever

this was a fabulous book I promise you will love it
it will make you happy make you sad great great story

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessie Kreft
  • Jessie Kreft
  • 16-10-19

It passed the time

There wasn't a whole lot of substance, and I couldn't really get into it too much. But it passed the time