Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

This audiobook includes an author's note read by the author.

"One of 2021's biggest books." (gal-dem)

The hugely-anticipated YA high-school thriller: Ace of Spades is Gossip Girl meets Get Out, with a shocking twist. Buried secrets come to light when two students are targeted by an anonymous bully with an explosive agenda.

Hello, Niveus High. It's me. Who am I? That's not important. All you need to know is...I'm here to divide and conquer. - Aces 

Welcome to Niveus Private Academy, where money paves the hallways, and the students are never less than perfect. Until now. Because anonymous texter, Aces, is bringing two students' dark secrets to light. Talented musician Devon buries himself in rehearsals, but he can't escape the spotlight when his private photos go public. Head girl Chiamaka isn't afraid to get what she wants, but soon everyone will know the price she has paid for power. Someone is out to get them both. Someone who holds all the aces. And they're planning much more than a high school game....

Unputdownable and utterly compulsive, this high-octane thriller takes a powerful look at institutionalized racism. Perfect for fans of Karen McManus, Holly Jackson and Angie Thomas. 

"Ace of Spades is the thought-provoking thriller we ALL need." (Nic Stone, number-one NYT best-selling author)

"A heart-racing and twisty thriller." (Alice Oseman)

"Strong Gossip Girl vibes and a whole lot of mystery." (Buzzfeed)

"Thunderous and terrifying. There's no way you're putting this down until you get to the last page." (Maureen Johnson, NYT best-selling author)

Trigger Warning: Ace of Spades is a work of fiction but it deals with many real issues including racism, homophobia, bullying and suicide ideation.

©2021 Usborne Publishing Limited (P)2021 Usborne Publishing Limited

Critic reviews

 "Ace of Spades is the thought-provoking thriller we ALL need." (Nic Stone, number one NYT best-selling author)

A heart-racing and twisty thriller." (Alice Oseman)

"Strong Gossip Girl vibes and a whole lot of mystery." (Buzzfeed)

What listeners say about Ace of Spades

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible!!!!

Just beautifully intense and very well written. Recommended by a friend and well worth the read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mystery school drama

Mystery school drama - just WHAT is going on and why?

Yes, a good old-fashioned thriller/mystery idea, but in a school. I liked it. I wasn't sure where this was taking me, but I did thoroughly enjoy the ride and when solutions begun to make themselves clear, I wasn't disappointed, it was something a little different. An adult story for teens.

Two narrators, one male, one female, tell us their intersecting stories of the Senior Year that goes wrong for them. Both black and at their expensive school on scholarships, one a successful Head Girl, the other a young musician who tries to remain unnoticed, their lives begin to become uncomfortable. Photos of them appear. Comments are circulated online. Secrets are exposed.

What have they both done to anyone to justify this? Who can be doing this to them? And where will it end?

I did enjoy seeing two very different characters first of all baring all to us, as their hidden lives are opened up to us and to their schoolmates, then I also enjoyed seeing the two of them realise they needed to work as a twosome to solve their situation and salvage their lives.

With two Audible narrators, it was easy to keep a track of which thread you are following, and I did enjoy the thriller-mystery nature of their story. I don't want to give anything away.

Enjoyable for adults as well as teenage readers, it also has a few points to make about race, social media and class, and kept my attention throughout.

With thanks to Nudge Books for providing a sample Audible copy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved it so much

I liked the narrators, their voices and interpretation of the book. I loved the book and the story that although uncomfortable to read/listen for the 70% of the book, left me wanting to be strong. To be aware and to do something about these matters that are still subtly lurking around on some people mind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

incredible

really gripping, heartbreaking and real! I lived the authors note at the end, really great!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay story

Nice book but struggled to finish it. It was just the story was just disjointed in a way. Lots to do with coming out and being Gay would have loved to know this before buying the book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth a read

This was good although a little predictable. I liked this issues highlighted & the authors notes at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend

One of the best books I've listened to. The narrators were excellent, but story stole the show!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An amazing listen

I highly recommend this book it’s one I hope everyone reads/listens to at least once in there lives.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Glorious thriller

a glorious thriller let down by an ending that occurs too quickly to be truly powerful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, I want a physical copy signed!

Absolutely loved this read, the characters were very well thought out and consistent and the dialogue was very real. The plot really is a scenario that you know deep down in your soul is happening and has to black people but it is a piece of blackness that scares me. I wish the authors note had been at the beginning rather than the end to prepare me for what I was reading. Will definitely be recommending!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elikem Katsekpor
  • Elikem Katsekpor
  • 15-11-21

Amazing

Loved it. Very eye opening
Loved the readers too, they were amazing.
Definitely worth reading