Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Paris and the Palace of Versailles have always meant a lot to TV producer Lexie. Her grandma Viv spent a year there, but her adventures and memories were never discussed, and Lexie has long wondered why they were a family secret. 

When work presents the perfect excuse to spend springtime in Versailles, Lexie delves into Viv’s old diaries and scrapbooks, and with the help of handsome interpreter Ronan, she is soon learning more about the characters that tend to the magnificent gardens, now and in the past. 

In amongst the beauty and splendour of the French countryside, a story of lost love, rivalry and tragedy unfolds. Can Lexie and Ronan right the wrongs of the past, and will France play its tricks on them both before Lexie has to go home? Will this truly be a springtime to remember? 

Let Lucy Coleman sweep you away with this perfect feel-good love story. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Sue Moorcroft and Heidi Swain. 

©2019 Lucy Coleman (P)2019 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about A Springtime to Remember

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    255
  • 4 Stars
    101
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    12
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    274
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    17

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly good ‘read’

I found this book a good story, enjoyed the narration and the little twists and turns.
Easy listening.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Promised more than it delivered

I’m sorry but this was dull, with unrealistic and irritating characters. They kind of deserve each other, even though I could not finish it so I don’t know who ends up with who

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story about Versailles

I love France and Versailles it was so interesting to learn about these wonderful gardens.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a lovely romance

This took me a little while to get into but loved it. A relaxing read.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

So dreadful I returned it

I can't comment on the story, because I returned this an hour in! It may have been the narration, but the snipy, supercilious interactions with one of the sisters drove me mad. As far as she was concerned- lifestyle choice: hers= great, anyone else's= rubbish.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An ok story and an easy listen

This book felt like it didn't have enough build up to start you into the story so it took me a while to get into the characters. As other reviews, the best part of the book was the history and vision of versailles but the story felt like it lacked substance or depth. But overall, still a good book if your looking for something light hearted and easy to listen to

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Twice as long as it needed to be to tell the tale

I really struggled to finish the book. Story was drawn out and predictable. Most disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Didn't finish, absolute rubbish

I wanted something light to take my mind off what is going on in my life but this was appalling. Also the narrator really needs to learn the English pronunciation of the word "schedule" with a sh not the American sk.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Most Enjoyable

the narrator was excellent. a lovely story that excellently paints pictures a scenes. Easy listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable book

I loved the narration of this book. Very well read. The accents were brilliant and unstilted.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S B
  • S B
  • 17-03-22

SWEARING 🤬

I'm not sure why a writer feels the need to throw cuss words into a story but the use of GD is absolutely unacceptable to me. I'm only a couple chapters in, but I won't be finishing this story or ANY of this authors books. What a shame.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KC14
  • KC14
  • 14-10-21

Fascinating! Great attention to detail.

The beauty of Versailles intricately described as are the characters lives, you become emotionally invested.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Samon
  • Samon
  • 30-05-22

A many-layered story at Versailles.

I’ve been to Paris, but not Versailles. I’m hoping for trip there in what’s left of my life. I’ve read several books about various gardeners at Versailles, so the summary of this book caught my attention. It was so worth the listen!

The story practically reads like a memoir, and the narrator’s voice is mesmerizing! It’s not a fast-paced adventure story, though a mystery slowly unfolds. It is a story to be slowly drunk in to be savored and appreciated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Victoria
  • Victoria
  • 18-05-22

Easy and unassuming

I listened to this tale because it was included in the free premium library. The start of it was such a tale of time in France that I thought I’d become bored. But thought the description of the time spent in France often made me bored, the love story and narration of in-depth character kept my interest. The story wound a magical, historical tale, that made me keep listening as time went by. I ended up listening without pause and was so grateful for the experience. Surprisingly, I’m still entranced, after the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for happyjo
  • happyjo
  • 17-05-22

A springtime to remember

A lovely story of romance, history and a family's adventure. the best thing that comes with secrets revealed many years later...is love.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynda
  • Lynda
  • 15-05-22

Inspiration

A cute little storyline of inspiration, hope and to forgiveness. I would read it again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for badfish
  • badfish
  • 28-03-22

no go

knew I was not liking this book from the first chapter. not my cup of tea!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Josie James
  • Josie James
  • 03-03-22

Not for me…

I couldn’t get past the first few chapters. Not enough people connection to keep me interested.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mah
  • Mah
  • 24-02-22

A waste of time

to bad I couldn't give this book minus 5!!! The story was ok BUT the narration was absolutely horrible!! I struggled to listen until I just couldn't take anymore!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reading Grandma
  • Reading Grandma
  • 16-01-22

Tried hard to like this book but the main character is unbelievably stupid

I was nearly at the end of chapter 17 when I called it quits! This has to be the most naive (or stupid) woman in history! She isn’t honest with her own brother or her boyfriend or herself. So very disappointed I could not bear another moment. My blood pressure was going through the roof! Don’t bother!

1 person found this helpful