Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • A New York Secret

  • Daughters of New York, Book 1
  • By: Ella Carey
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Woodward
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • 3.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
A New York Secret cover art

A New York Secret

By: Ella Carey
Narrated by: Jennifer Woodward
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Paris Time Capsule cover art
Jacqueline in Paris cover art
A Light in the Window cover art
Searching for My Daughter cover art
The Hidden Village cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Girl Who Escaped cover art
The Italian Island: An absolutely heartbreaking and totally WW2 romance cover art
The American Wife cover art
The Silence Before Dawn cover art
The Letter Reader cover art
A Jewish Girl in Paris cover art
The Girl with the Yellow Star cover art
The Girl from Berlin cover art
The Italian Fiancé cover art
The Italian Daughter cover art

Summary

From top-10 best-selling author Ella Carey comes a stunning Second World War novel. The glitter, glamor, and danger of 1940s New York collide in this dazzling story about a young woman striving to survive in a world where everything is set against her.

War forces her to choose a side....

1942, New York. As war rages in Europe, Lily Rose is grateful for her perfect life: a wealthy family who love her and a dream job working uptown as a restaurant chef. Times are changing for women, and Lily is determined to run her own kitchen one day. She hopes handsome Tom Morelli, son of Sicilian immigrants, will be at her side. Together they work late, dreaming up delicious meals for New Yorkers struggling with wartime rationing and the threat of sons and sweethearts being called up....

Then Tom receives a devastating telegram that changes everything: He is drafted to fight in Italy. Suddenly alone, Lily turns to her parents for support. But when her mother finds out about Tom, she is furious. When the war ends, Lily’s duty is to marry the man picked for her, keep house and raise children. They give her a heartbreaking ultimatum: End her relationship with Tom, or lose her family and inheritance forever.

In the middle of the war, Lily is left in an impossible position. Will she choose to stay with her family and live the safe life she has always known, or will she follow her heart and her dreams?

An emotional novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love, and friendships that will see you through war and tragedy. Fans of Fiona Davis, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will be captivated.

©2021 Ella Carey (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about A New York Secret

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Did not finish

I always try to see a book through. I just couldn't keep listening to the dreary, predictable storyline and dreadful accents. Listening was a chore.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!