Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Silence Before Dawn

  • WW2 Resistance Series, Book 1
  • By: Amanda Lees
  • Narrated by: Sofia Zervudachi
  • Length: 10 hrs and 42 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Silence Before Dawn cover art

The Silence Before Dawn

By: Amanda Lees
Narrated by: Sofia Zervudachi
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

All the Courage We Have Found cover art
The Girl Who Escaped cover art
The Wife Who Risked Everything cover art
The Bletchley Girls cover art
The American Wife cover art
The Girl with the Yellow Star cover art
The Postcard cover art
Goodnight, Vienna cover art
The Secrets We Left Behind cover art
Sisters of the Resistance cover art
The Secret Agent cover art
Darkness Falls cover art
The Last Restaurant in Paris cover art
Daughters of Paris cover art
The Secret Midwife cover art
A Light in the Window cover art

Summary

Nazi-occupied France, 1944: I tear open the envelope, extracting a sheet of folded paper. I read it, my heart cracking with every word. There is no mistaking the name of the man who betrayed us. Jack. My beloved fiancé–and now, a traitor.

For months, Marianne’s resistance network has carried out courageous missions from a remote farmhouse in Southern Provence, aiding the Nazis’ downfall. But one fateful night, they are viciously ambushed as German soldiers storm in, scattering, capturing or killing every last person there.

Mourning the loss of her friends, Marianne will need every ounce of courage to survive. Not only has her life as a secret agent been critically compromised, but her heart has been shattered. Because Jack, her darling fiancé and fellow spy, fled in the chaos–and is accused of being the traitor who betrayed them.

Desperate to believe Jack’s innocence and that their love was true, to her horror Marianne discovers he has been seized by the Butcher of Lyon, a Nazi more brutal and ruthless than any other. Now it is more imperative than ever that Marianne finds Jack–before he reveals the names of every undercover agent in France, or before he is murdered for remaining loyal.

So Marianne sets out on the most dangerous mission of her life and the most personal. With her tight-knit group of fellow women agents by her side, she risks everything to rescue Jack. Can she save her fiancé before it’s too late–and change the fate of the war in the process? Or is she blind to the heartbreaking truth and simply sacrificing her own life?

Based on true stories of the fearless women secret agents–and their tales of bravery, betrayal, and love–this is the first book in the heart-pounding, heart-wrenching and totally addictive World War Two Resistance series. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Ellie Midwood.

©2022 Amanda Lees (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Silence Before Dawn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth a listen

This took me a while to get into I felt that some of the characters were not well introduced but when I did I loved it. One thing as a linguist I thought the narrators accents were not good. I feel it would have been better to do the reading without accents. But that’s just my view.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

A real page turner. If you enjoy WW2 resistance stories, you must make this one your next book !

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Really great story, with factual characters woven in and lots of unexpected twists. Narration was very well done particularly when switching from character to character. Highly recommended!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Very disappointed. The main character is just so unbelievable, it's almost funny! Too much emphasis on her being a woman in charge of the men. It's pure fairytale stuff. Upon meeting another female resistance fighter, also in command of her group of men, she stares at her, willing her to look away first! Really? We're expected to believe that is all they had to worry about? Also a bit far fetched that she hadn't previously known about this other female. The entire book is along the same lines. Fantasy and fairytale all the way through. Some dreadful accents from the narrator and that was enough to dump this on the "Could not Finish" shelf.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!