Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Germany 1945: Miriam had been walking for two weeks. The Nazis had taken nearly everything she held dear except for her daughter Rosa. Finding her daughter alive was the tiny flicker of hope Miriam needed to keep walking. She wouldn’t stop until she found her.  

When Miriam arrives at a British checkpoint, she is exhausted and hungry. But deep down she knows she is still one of the fortunate ones. One of the few to survive the camps. Having lost her husband and son, Miriam clings to the hope of finding her daughter, Rosa.   

Closing her eyes, an image of Rosa appears: the last time Miriam saw her in 1939, boarding a train that would take her to the safety of England. "Say goodbye here, Mama, the platform is too crowded," Rosa had said as Miriam cupped her daughter’s face with both hands and kissed her through tears.   

"Not long now, my darling," Miriam vows as she stands tall and walks through the gates of the checkpoint. There, she is introduced to an English officer named Jack. If Miriam has any hope of finding Rosa, Jack will need to help her travel to England.   

But as Miriam begins to tell her daughter’s story, there is a look of recognition in Jack’s eyes. As he listens, he is transported back to an unforgettable English summer, to secret picnics in the long grass, and to a love that shaped the man he became. Will Jack now risk everything to help Miriam make the biggest journey of all, back to her daughter and to a hopeful future?   

An utterly gripping and emotional novel about bravery, enduring love and keeping hope alive in the darkest of times. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Beneath a Scarlet Sky and The Tattooist of Auschwitz. 

©2022 Liz Trenow (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Searching for My Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Buystoomuch
  • Buystoomuch
  • 26-06-22

Great WWII Novel

This nonfiction historical novel will leaving you crying with joy, after pages of tears of sorrow for the characters.
Set in WWII Germany and the year following the defeat of the Germans . It is a novel about a Jewish prison camp survivor laying to locate her only living child, Rosa, who didn't qualify for the English Profgram of helping to remove Jewish children from Germany, due to her age. instead she marries a man she doesn't really love to escape Germany's hounding, intermittent, and killing of people who are Jewish, gypsies and homosexuals.
A wonderfully written book. also the audio recording is extremely well done!