Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
A Match Made at Matlock cover art

A Match Made at Matlock

By: Jan Ashton,Julie Cooper,Amy D'Orazio,Jessie Lewis
Narrated by: Stevie Zimmerman
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A regency romance for fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

Viscount Saye, eldest cousin of Fitzwilliam Darcy of Pemberley, is startled one wintry day by the news that his beloved, Lillian Goddard, is to become engaged to another. Unwilling to lose her, he quickly plans a party at his ancestral estate to woo her away from her suitor. Twenty ladies and gentlemen respond to his invitation, eager for a fortnight of revelry in Saye’s inimitable style.

Fitzwilliam Darcy, at last engaged to his beloved Elizabeth Bennet, finds himself stymied by her father. Mr Bennet has consented to the engagement but forces them to endure a prolonged courtship, with too much time spent apart. Getting Elizabeth to the house party is only the first in a series of frustrations and challenges that confront them. Will their love and attachment prevail?

Georgette Hawkridge has all the finest qualities of a lady of fashion. Alas, she has fallen in love with a decidedly unfashionable man, an affection they have kept well-concealed. Two weeks is a long time to hide, however, and the truth of what they mean to one another—and the man her suitor really is—must eventually emerge.

Colonel Richard Fitzwilliam attends his brother’s party with no thought for anything but time among friends; after all, he is too poor to marry, an idea that rankles, particularly when he must watch love bloom around him. Then he meets Sarah Bentley, a pretty, wealthy girl with a predilection for admiring the unlovable, but will he know his heart before it’s too late?

Amid masques and marvels, love will abound; attachments will be formed, tried, and tested, and one couple’s engagement will come to an end. For all who heed the summons, it will be an unforgettable fortnight at Matlock!

A Match Made at Matlock is an Austen-esque regency romance perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Pride & Prejudice.

©2022 Jan Ashton (P)2022 Quills & Quartos Publishing
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about A Match Made at Matlock

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very different, but well written & wonderful characters

Very different to many other P&P variations, in that it introduces some new characters and weaves them cleverly into various new storylines with the originals. Well written and thoroughly enjoyable. The narration is wonderful, as always from Stevie Zimmerman.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sweet and amusing

A very different JAFF without the usual angst. There's a surfeit of happily ever afters that I felt just too treacly at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

What a brilliant combination of authors and in my opinion the best narrator. The characters (especially Saye), the storyline, the pace, the laugh out loud moments… everything. I just loved it and would highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting

I loved this story, enhanced as it was by SZ narration. I highly recommend this JAFF

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 15-08-22

Tremendous fun!

That was absolutely wonderful! Such a unique premise, especially for a sequel. Sometimes a huge cast of characters like this can get overwhelming but this was laid out very well and it was easy to follow. All of the original characters were so fun and fully realized with intricate backstories. It was truly an adventure to discover everything. Part of me wished there was more Darcy and Elizabeth but it was interesting to see them through the lens of everyone around them! This was just such a delight, I loved it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K Hall
  • K Hall
  • 25-01-23

Brilliant

This book, written by four of the best JAFF authors, is funny, clever, romantic and compelling, enhanced by the narration of Stevie Zimmerman. It takes place at an over the top house party with lots of assignations, confessions and angst. Saye, Fitzwilliam and Darcy are all in different stages of love, as are their objects of interest. I think Jane Austen would enjoy this book as much as her contemporary fans.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Giltner
  • Cindy Giltner
  • 20-12-22

Narrator

Stevie Zimmerman is the best. She make the characters come alive. Elizabeth and Darcy find each other once again

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E.B.
  • E.B.
  • 16-11-22

a book written by a committee

There is not other way to say it- this book was interminably long and pretty boring.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-08-22

Hilarious!!

I couldn't stop laughing 🤣🤣. Saye is such a character, it's hilarious. I laughed so hard when Saye kept referring to Elizabeth as Zabet, and the description of Darcy's mole! 😂 All through the storyline, continued laughter among all the characters. Great writing from all the authors and the narrator, Zimmerman. Great work! Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JD
  • JD
  • 07-08-22

Quite entertaining

I enjoy P&P variations which include Viscount Saye. He's such a rake, but a rake with a heart of gold. This story is predictably a happy ending all round, almost improbably so, but is that not why we read P&P variations? This was a very diverting take and I enjoyed the new characters. For the most part, each was unique. Sarah was forcibly unique to the point of absurdity with all those latin insect names, but she eventually grew on me. I would recommend this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ginger Milne
  • Ginger Milne
  • 05-07-22

Wonderful sequel

Wonderful sequel to P&P. Captivating and unique story to expand the P&P world and what come next. Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Traci S.
  • Traci S.
  • 28-06-22

Glorious story from the BEST of the best

I mean how can you go wrong with this group of writers narrated by Stevie Zimmerman, this story is AMAZING. Even though it doesn't have much to do with P&P beyond a couple characters the group of characters in this story is magical. The ladies (most) are strong, smart and witty. The men are funny and show vulnerability and the storyline is fantastic.

If you like PP variations, this book is a winner!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 24-05-22

Saye, Saye, Saye

Saye is so adorably wicked but utterly enchanting along with his cousins. Their intertwined tales are charmingly diverting. This is one book that I believe will become another one of my go to MUST re-reads.
Bravo Ladies!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MHTex
  • MHTex
  • 29-04-22

Four of our best Austenesque authors, quadruple home run

So good I want to start it all over again right away. This will be on my re-listen list a couple times this year alone. And Stevie Zimmerman rocks!