Listen free for 30 days

  • A Grand Old Time

  • By: Judy Leigh
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (91 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
A Grand Old Time cover art

A Grand Old Time

By: Judy Leigh
Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be 75 and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe. But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home. 

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store...because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

©2018 Judy Leigh (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Brilliantly funny, emotional and uplifting." (Miranda Dickinson)

"Lovely...a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy." (Cathy Hopkins, best-selling author of The Kicking the Bucket List)

"Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life…a wonderful escapade." (Fiona Gibson, best-selling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

What listeners say about A Grand Old Time

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Do we just over look the domestic violence...??

I found this a bit of an odd book. The main character is a compulsive liar, l think this was meant to make her 'cute' but it made me completely dislike her from the start.
There is a chapter where the a wife throws numerous items at her husband and it is never addressed which l find a bit disturbing. If it was the husband throwing things at his wife without it being later addressed , l doubt this book would ever have been published.

The narration was good and her French was a joy to listen too but things changed when 'Brendan' made an appearance. Why oh why the narrator choose to make him sound like a sleep walking zombie l'll never know .....and having him refer to his mother as 'Mammy' just sounded hilarious. 'MAAAAAAAMMY'!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

endearing

a 75 year old woman decides that the elderly peoples home is not for her, so she decided to leave there.
she books an aeroplane and sets off on adventure that leads her to a second chance at love,

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Uplifting!

I loved this story. As a divorced 60 something, I did not only enjoy the book but felt very inspired to grab my own life by the horns and live every minute to the full, enjoying the gift of 'the present'. Beautifully narrated too!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story

Lovely, funny & sad.
Makes me want to buy a camper an & travel through France whilst I still can.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I have listened to other stories by Judy Leigh and enjoyed their funny and irreverent tone. Unfortunately I gave up on this one. It was hard going, not funny and slow. Disappointing but hey, you can't like them all equally.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good fun

Thoroughly enjoyed this light listen, as surprisingly did my husband. The characters were likeable and easy to relate to, so much so I missed them when the book ended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

Loved this book, the narrator is one of my favourites! I did have a foreboding feeling towards the end but I really enjoyed the story & the characters!
It made me smile, laugh out loud! When I hear swearing in an Irish accent somehow it doesn’t sound as offensive & the word Ballocks makes me smile.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Grating Irish Accent

The overall story was good. I enjoyed the concept of the main character making such a radical change in her life, reclaiming her independence.
However, the Irish accent was very confusing throughout and inconsistent. Sometimes the characters sounded like they were from Dublin, other times they sounded like they were from some nondescript part of Ireland. Also the use of the pronunciation baabee for baby was so irritating. People in ireland don’t use that pronunciation. I’m Irish myself and found this the most irritating part of the book.
This is not accurate portrayal of Irish people.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable and different

I have previously read this many years ago and recently sent a copy to my elderly mother who thoroughly enjoyed this. I listened to this at the same time as she was reading her copy so that we could discuss it on video chat as I live overseas and she really enjoyed this time.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a very nice intriguing read

I really enjoyed this book well worth the time just a nice cosy book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy Ryan
  • Tracy Ryan
  • 01-11-21

Lovely story

This was a really beautiful story. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to it. I also love Aoife McMahons voice