Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
A Girl Called Joy cover art

A Girl Called Joy

By: Jenny Valentine
Narrated by: Aysha Kala
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £9.99

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

For listeners aged nine and up comes a major new contemporary middle-grade series from award-winning author Jenny Valentine, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson!

Meet 10-year-old Joy Applebloom, a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds. 

After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia - back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality

Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back and realises that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along....

©2021 Jenny Valentine (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about A Girl Called Joy

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.