A Girl Called Joy

3 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

A Girl Called Joy Summary

For listeners aged nine and up comes a major new contemporary middle-grade series from award-winning author Jenny Valentine, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson!

Meet 10-year-old Joy Applebloom, a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds. 

After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia - back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality

Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back and realises that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along....

©2021 Jenny Valentine (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
From £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.