Wheel of Time

21 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 50,522 ratings


In the internationally best-selling Wheel of Time series, one man is destined to face the Dark One and save the world — or destroy it in the process.

The Wheel of Time has sold over 80 million copies worldwide and is one of the best-selling high fantasy series since The Lord of the Rings. Its popularity has spawned an eponymous video game, role-playing game and an Amazon Prime series starring Rosamund Pike.

Be transported as Kate Reading and Michael Kramer capture the thoughts, feelings and actions of a rich cast of characters. Both seasoned audiobook narrators, Reading and Kramer effortlessly carry listeners through a complex fantasy universe with compelling performances. You’ll be hooked as the story unfolds.

Hundreds of characters populate the vast world of the series, but one man alone — Rand al’Thor — is prophesied to be the champion of the Light. This epic saga is not just his story, but the story of an entire world’s struggle. 

Drawing on themes from European and Asian mythology, cyclical time, balance and duality, writer Robert Jordan brings to life an expansive universe in meticulous detail. The inspiration behind The Wheel of Time came in 1984 when writer Robert Jordan wondered, ‘What would it be like to be told you were going to save the world, but also destroy it?’ 

More than 20 years in the making, the series came to an abrupt halt in 2007 when Jordan passed away unexpectedly. It was eventually completed by fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson, who worked from Jordan’s notes to produce the final three volumes. Sanderson was selected for the job by Jordan's wife, who admired Sanderson's writing.

Show More Show Less
<span style=\Not an Audible member?" title="Not an Audible member?" />
Not an Audible member?
From £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.