The Katherine Wheel Saga

6 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 1 rating

Daffodils Summary

Katy, a maidservant at Cheadle Manor, longs to escape her narrow life but events unfold slowly in her rural village. Finally, frustrated by personal tragedy and the shackles that continue to bind her, she becomes a mechanic in the WAAC as part of the British Expeditionary Force. Through the horrors of WW1 she discovers only love brings freedom. 

Note from the author

For fans of historical fiction, Daffodils is part one of a true love trilogy, The Katherine Wheel Saga, set in Wiltshire, England at the time of the First World War. It starts slowly. Life changes little in Cheadle. Petty scandals, gossip, and the huge gap between the haves and those who serve them continue to dominate their small world. Daffodils follows the gallant women who provided the backbone for the army, not just the nurses, but the gender-defying mechanics and drivers who managed the vehicles and ambulances. But in essence, Daffodils is a love story whose tender heart is almost torn apart through this tumultuous time. 

Book Two of the Katherine Wheel Saga is called Peace Lily. Find out how these characters fared after the Armistice when they entered a new, modern age. 

A third book, Speedwell, completes the trilogy...for now...and takes the characters into the daring arena of motor racing in the 1920s.

©2014 Alex Martin (P)2019 Alex Martin
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.