Alex Martin

Alex Martin

'The Plotting Shed' (see my blog was my first writing space at the bottom of my Welsh garden. Now I split my time between Wales and France and plot wherever I am. I still wander aimlessly in the countryside with my dog and my dreams and I can still be found typing away with imaginary friends whispering in my ear, but these days I have the joy of seeing my stories published and the treasured feedback from readers who've enjoyed them. Now I have eight novels on Amazon and a collection of 3 short stories, called Trio (a free copy of which is available at The Plotting Shed). My first novel, The Twisted Vine, is based on my adventurous escape from real life when I went picking grapes in France in the 1980s. I met some amazing people there but none as outrageous as those that sprang to life on my screen. Award-winning Daffodils, the first in "The Katherine Wheel Series", is quite a different book and is based in Wiltshire where I grew up. Katy's life and the rigid social order that confined her were radically altered by the catalyst of the First World War as it slowly eroded the age-old way of English country life. The sequel, Peace Lily, takes the characters into 1919 after the armistice. They each have to carve out new lives in the aftermath of the Great War and find their way in the new modern age. The next book is Speedwell, when the four protagonists race into the motoring era of the roaring 'twenties. Willow, a novella, bridges the gaps between the generations in Speedwell and the next two books, Woodbine and Ivy. The children in Willow are on the brink of both adulthood and the Second World War in Woodbine, and this conflict will dramatically impact on their lives, just as the First World War did on their parents'. The Katherine Wheel Series concludes in Ivy, the sixth volume where Lottie is trapped in occupied France, Isobel is torn between love and duty and Al flies planes for the ATA. All the disparate threads of the previous five books are drawn together into a surprising climax. I've also published something totally different. The Rose Trail is a ghost story with the English Civil War as its backdrop. The story slips between the time of the English civil war and the present day and is woven together with a supernatural thread in a ghostly voice. I'm happy to add that The Rose Trail has won 2 awards since publication: Chill with a Book award and a B.R.A.G Medallion. Now its sequel is published, Triskelion, Book Two of The Spirit Level Series, where Fay and Percy take on their first professional assignment in the wild lands of Anglesey, an island off North Wales. A rock star's creativity is frustrated by a ghost who lived near his music studio 2000 years ago. This Druid priestess is determined to be heard by everyone.
Read more Read less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.