The Five Towns

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 326 ratings

Anna of the Five Towns Summary

Set in stifled, industrial Staffordshire in the late 19th century, against a strong evangelical background, Anna of the Five Towns tells of the courting of hard businessman Ephraim Tellright's daughter by prosperous and accomplished Henry Mynors.

As her father's fortune grows, so does Anna understanding. She realises her legacy and responsibility for the possible ruination of her father's tenants, Titus Price and his son, Willie, who also loves her. Mynors is soon in partnership with Tellright. Will Anna defy the miserly Ephraim, offend Mynors, with their marriage imminent, and help the unfortunate Prices - or subdue her instincts and resign herself to the way of Business?

©2005 Arnold Bennett (P)2005 Assembled Stories
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.