Emerson Pass Historicals

8 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 23 ratings

The School Mistress Summary

How easily can an open heart unlock the door to happily ever after?

When Miss Quinn Cooper arrives in Emerson Pass, Colorado, her entire life is packed into one small suitcase. Her family is depending upon her for their survival back home in Boston, and the self-appointed mayor of the rugged mountain community is counting on Miss Cooper to prove herself a fitting teacher for the entire town.

Lord Alexander Barnes is determined to bring a bit of English civility to the wild terrain of Emerson Pass. Using his own resources, the widower and father of five builds a schoolhouse and recruits a young teacher from the East, and all is well until necessity forces the lovely, young newcomer to also take a room in the Barnes’ home.

While the five Barnes children are sure the new schoolmarm is the perfect woman for their lonely father, and the duo has been forced together by every possible circumstance, the threat of violence upon the untamed town makes any hope of a budding romance seem unwise. But as Lord Barnes and Miss Cooper persist in their efforts to bring progress to the closed-minded locals, their own hearts may be unable to resist the chance to experience something as fresh and exhilarating as the unsettled mountain territory.

The first installment of USA Today best-selling author Tess Thompson’s historical romance series brings a touch of whimsy and an extra dash of mystery to Edwardian romance. Listeners will fall in love with the courageous Miss Cooper and swoon for the magnanimous English lord as they struggle to save their exciting new world at the turn of the 20th century.

©2020 Tess Thompson (P)2020 Tess Thompson
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.